Early day motion 2095

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the BBC Charter and Network Supply Review contained commitment to move a significant amount of BBC production out of the area bounded by the M25 to the nations and English regions; further notes that the drama series Doctors, produced in Birmingham, may be forced to relocate to Salford, and that Casualty, produced in Bristol, may be forced to relocate to Cardiff; welcomes the subsequent increase in facilities in Salford and in Cardiff but is concerned that commitment should not be at the expense of other regions; believes that such a move would cause a loss of jobs of the highly skilled technicians based in those regions, and decrease the work opportunities for locally-based actors terminating training opportunities for people in those regions wishing to pursue a career in television including writers, technicians, and actors; further believes that this would damage the local economy in supply and training that links and interacts with these regional production facilities; and therefore calls on the BBC management to guarantee that the core commitment of the BBC Charter to move production from within the M25 area is met by relocating production from within this geographical zone and not by relocating production currently produced within the English regions.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 07.10.2008
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 06.10.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.07.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 21.07.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 07.10.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 22.07.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 22.07.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 17.07.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 21.07.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 06.10.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 21.07.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 14.10.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.07.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 22.07.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 21.07.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 06.10.2008
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 06.11.2008
Luff, Peter Conservative Party Mid Worcestershire 06.10.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.07.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.07.2008
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 06.10.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 22.07.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 21.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 22.07.2008
Waltho, Lynda Labour Party Stourbridge 06.10.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 06.10.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 22.07.2008