Early day motion 1889

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the manufacturer Heinz has withdrawn its television advertisement, which features two men kissing, on the basis of 200 complaints that it might be embarrassing for parents with children to watch; further notes that millions of children watch depictions of same-sex relationships in soap operas every day; further notes that the advertisement was not intended to be a realistic depiction of a same-sex relationship, and that the advertisement was intended to be humorous; believes that Heinz's decision was ill-considered and likely to offend millions of gay, lesbian and transgender people; and calls on Heinz to reconsider its decision.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 25.06.2008
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 16.10.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 15.10.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 14.07.2008
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 25.06.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.07.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 03.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.06.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 01.07.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 07.07.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 25.06.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.06.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 30.06.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.06.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 21.07.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 26.06.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 30.06.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 26.06.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.07.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 22.07.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 01.07.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.07.2008
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 03.07.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 26.06.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 02.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 25.06.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 22.07.2008
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 16.07.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 16.07.2008
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 15.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.07.2008
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 17.07.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 02.07.2008