Early day motion 1839

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed by the Government's proposal to abolish the requirement on employers to retain employers' liability compulsory insurance for 40 years; acknowledges that the existing law is poorly enforced; notes that the Government intend to introduce a statutory instrument before the summer recess to achieve this reform to employment and insurance law; recognises the significant distress of mesothelioma sufferers and their families who have been awarded industrial injury damages in court but cannot trace their former employers' insurers; believes that this inability to trace the insurers of employers whose workers were exposed to fatal asbestos dust as part of their work illustrates the need for insurance law to be strengthened, not weakened; further believes that the Department for Work and Pensions' solution will absolve employers and their insurers from responsibility for future victims of industrial illnesses like mesothelioma who are diagnosed with a fatal industrial illness many years after exposure; and calls upon the Government not to introduce this statutory instrument to withdraw and to consult the public further on this matter.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 50

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 50 out of 50

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 25.06.2008
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 07.07.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.06.2008
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 15.07.2008
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 22.07.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.06.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 26.06.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.07.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 09.07.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 01.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.06.2008
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 08.07.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 24.06.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 30.06.2008
Curtis-Thomas, Claire Labour Party Crosby 14.07.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 25.06.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 01.07.2008
Donohoe, Brian H Labour Party Central Ayrshire 21.07.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 24.06.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.06.2008
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 02.07.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 24.06.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 24.06.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.06.2008
Heath, David Liberal Democrats Somerton and Frome 16.10.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 30.06.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 25.06.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.06.2008
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 30.06.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 08.10.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 23.06.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 26.06.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 24.06.2008
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 23.06.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.07.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 02.07.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2008
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 07.07.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 01.07.2008
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 03.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 02.07.2008
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 03.07.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 19.06.2008
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 01.07.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 03.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.07.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.06.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 30.06.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 15.07.2008