Early day motion 1757

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commends the action taken by the Financial Standards Authority to petition the High Court for a wind-up order against UK Land Investments, the country's largest landbanking firm, for operating an illegal collective investment scheme; hopes that this will lead to action being taken against other organisations engaged in landbanking, described as the practice of subdividing undeveloped land and selling individual plots to secondary investors at an inflated cost on the basis that they will profit from future development on the land; hopes that this decision will be the beginning of the end of this practice which has caused so many investors to lose money and blighted communities where these plots are located; and now calls on the Government to take action to outlaw this activity to protect both investors and communities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.06.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 12.06.2008
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 01.07.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.06.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.06.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 20.06.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 19.06.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.06.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 12.06.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.06.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 19.06.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 19.06.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 08.07.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 12.06.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 17.06.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 26.06.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 18.06.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 12.06.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 18.06.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 11.06.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.06.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 16.06.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.06.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 02.07.2008
Spink, Bob UKIP Castle Point 11.06.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 23.06.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 15.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 17.06.2008