Early day motion 1656

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the attendance of Robert Mugabe at the United Nations conference on food security in Rome; notes that although there is a European Union travel ban upon him, there is a loophole in connection with a United Nations event; considers that consistency in dealing with the Mugabe regime is essential and that the UK has adopted a policy of Ministers not attending where Mugabe and his Ministers are present; further notes that the Prime Minister himself, last year, boycotted an EU-African Summit because Mugabe had been invited to attend; is concerned therefore that the Secretary of State for International Development is attending the Rome Conference; further notes that Mugabe and his team will ruthlessly use such official presence at this conference as part of the campaign in the forthcoming crucial second round election in Zimbabwe; and therefore calls on the UK not to attend the Rome Conference.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 11.06.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 03.06.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.06.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.06.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 02.06.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.06.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.06.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 04.06.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 01.07.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 04.06.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.06.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.06.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 06.06.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.06.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 03.06.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 30.06.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 11.06.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.06.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 30.06.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.06.2008
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 02.07.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 03.06.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 26.06.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 12.06.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 04.06.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.06.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.06.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 03.06.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.06.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.06.2008
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 11.06.2008
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.06.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.06.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 18.06.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 16.06.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 02.06.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 11.06.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.06.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 10.06.2008
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 04.06.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 11.06.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 03.06.2008