Early day motion 1558

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern that, although deposit protection was introduced with overwhelming support from April 2007 to protect tenants renting in the private sector on assured shorthold tenancies (ASTs), a significant number of tenants remain unprotected because tenancies where the annual rent exceeds £25,000 are outside the protection offered by ASTs; notes that many dwellings let on joint tenancies exceed that £25,000 limit, estimated by the National Union of Students/Unipol at 40 per cent. of all student tenants in London and the South East and 10 per cent. of student tenants throughout the rest of England and Wales; further notes that the threshold of £25,000 was set in 1990 to take luxury lets out of AST protection and that had this threshold been indexed to the Retail Prices Index it would now be £52,000; and calls on the Government to raise the current AST threshold to £52,000 and index it hereafter in order to protect many young and vulnerable house-sharers renting in the private sector, as was originally intended by introducing deposit protection.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 19.05.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.05.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 14.07.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 02.06.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 03.06.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.05.2008
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.10.2008
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 19.05.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 15.05.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.06.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 15.05.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 14.05.2008
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 14.07.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 20.05.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 16.05.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.05.2008
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 03.06.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.05.2008
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 19.06.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 15.05.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 02.06.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 15.05.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 15.05.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 02.06.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.05.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 06.06.2008
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.06.2008
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 09.07.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 14.05.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 20.05.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 19.05.2008
Spink, Bob UKIP Castle Point 14.05.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 20.05.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 03.06.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.05.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 19.05.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 15.05.2008