Early day motion 1557

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that, although educational establishments were exempted from certain provisions of the Housing Act 2004, including deposit protection, if they signed an Approved Code of Practice under section 233 of the Housing Act 2004, a problem remains with educational establishments taking a long time to return deposits and that National Union of Students/Unipol estimates that over 50 per cent. of deposits taken are not returned to students within two months of their tenancies ending and some take many months; further notes that the time set under tenant deposit protection for the return of a deposit is 10 days; and calls on the Government to require the tenancy deposit protection timescales for the return of students' money to be written into the Approved Code of Practice forthwith.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 07.07.2008
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 04.06.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.05.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 14.07.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 02.06.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 03.06.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.05.2008
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.10.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 15.05.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.06.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 15.05.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 20.05.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.05.2008
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 03.06.2008
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 19.06.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 15.05.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 02.06.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 15.05.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 15.05.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 02.06.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 02.06.2008
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 09.07.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 14.05.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 15.05.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 20.05.2008
Spink, Bob UKIP Castle Point 14.05.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.06.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 03.06.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.05.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 20.05.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 15.05.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 15.05.2008