Early day motion 1552

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 23rd June 2008 will mark the 30th anniversary of the Vumba Massacre of British missionaries by members of the Zimbabwe National Liberation Army in the former Rhodesia that resulted in the murder of nine missionaries and four children; further notes that all were associated with the Elim Pentecostal Church; recalls that those who were murdered were Peter McCann, his wife, Sandra, son Phillip aged six and daughter Joy aged five, Phillip Evans, his wife, Suzan, and their daughter Rebecca aged four, Catherine Picken, Elizabeth Wendy Hamilton-White, Mary Fisher and Roy Lynn, his wife, Joyce and their daughter Pamela Grace aged three weeks old; further recalls that according to witnesses the missionaries were praying for their killers as they died; notes that since then, several of those terrorists have become Christians, and the work that the missionaries started is being carried on today by Zimbabwean nationals; expresses its gratitude to all who have imperilled their lives in order to carry the Gospel to those in need; and takes comfort in the promise contained in the book of Revelation chapter 14 and verse 13 that says `Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth... that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them'.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.05.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 13.05.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.05.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.05.2008
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 13.05.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.05.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 14.05.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 13.05.2008
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 20.05.2008
Paisley, Ian Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 13.05.2008
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.05.2008
Robinson, Peter Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 13.05.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.05.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 13.05.2008