Early day motion 1273

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that there are six local authority private bills currently before this House, which seek to regulate the street trading activities of pedlars, and seven that have already been dealt with; notes that there may be up to 50 local authorities considering similar private legislation to regulate the activities of pedlars in other towns and cities in England and Wales, which is an indication of the scale of this problem; further notes the considerable costs incurred of between £40,000 and £200,000 in promoting a private bill; and calls on the Government to support the Pedlars (Street Trading Regulation ) Bill, introduced by the hon. Member for Bolton South East.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 21.04.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 02.04.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 31.03.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 01.04.2008
Browne, Jeremy Liberal Democrats Taunton 12.05.2008
Butterfill, John Conservative Party Bournemouth West 31.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.04.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 31.03.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 28.04.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 02.06.2008
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 23.04.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 21.04.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 25.04.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 03.04.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.04.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 19.05.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.03.2008
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 21.04.2008
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 06.05.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 01.04.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 31.03.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 31.03.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 27.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 22.04.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 02.04.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 01.04.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.04.2008
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 01.04.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 02.04.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 07.05.2008
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 03.06.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.04.2008
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 22.05.2008
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 23.04.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 02.04.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.04.2008
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 02.04.2008
Spink, Bob Independent Conservative Castle Point 31.03.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 01.04.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 01.04.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 31.03.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 28.04.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.04.2008
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 24.04.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 03.04.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 02.04.2008