Early day motion 1220

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that South Asian women have over twice the risk of losing a baby in the early stages of pregnancy, compared to European women, due to complications caused by type 2 diabetes; notes that poor social conditions, language barriers and an unhealthy diet all contribute to these poor pregnancy outcomes; recognises that those of Asian background are up to six times more likely to develop diabetes and that diabetes affects this community five to 10 years earlier than the general population; understands insulin, which can provide a solution to many of the problems associated with diabetes during pregnancy, unfortunately carries a stigma within the South Asian community; congratulates local initiatives such as the Apnee Sehat social enterprise which has developed a targeted educational DVD to provide guidance and practical information for pregnant women; commends such educational resources being tailored to raise health risk awareness in South Asian communities and promoting lifestyle changes to prevent this disease; and urges the Department of Health to use this beacon DVD as a best practice tool and calls for this to be made available to primary care trusts across the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 20.03.2008
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.11.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 19.03.2008
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 20.03.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 31.03.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 19.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 31.03.2008
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 26.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 02.04.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 21.04.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 19.03.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.04.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 19.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 25.03.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 25.03.2008
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.03.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 27.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.04.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.03.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 19.03.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 20.03.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 26.03.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 13.06.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 21.04.2008
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 01.04.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 25.03.2008
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.04.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 20.03.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 18.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.03.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 19.03.2008
Spink, Bob Independent Conservative Castle Point 19.03.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 27.03.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 26.03.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 19.03.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 26.03.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 25.03.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 26.03.2008