Early day motion 1166

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Sir Bernard Lovell, the world-class research teams at University of Manchester and staff at Jodrell Bank Observatory for their acclaimed work over the last 50 years; notes the Observatory's significant contributions to research into meteors, quasars, pulsars, masers and gravitational lenses; recognises that Merlin and e-Merlin are critical projects for both the future of the site and the ability of scientists to carry out cutting edge research in radio astronomy in the United Kingdom; notes with concern that the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) is considering withdrawing its planned £2.7 million annual funding of Jodrell Bank's e-Merlin project; calls on the STFC to reassess its view of the importance of Jodrell Bank Observatory to the scientific community in the North West of England, the UK and internationally; and further calls on the STFC to continue its previous commitment to the Observatory.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 68

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 68 out of 68

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 19.03.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 19.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.03.2008
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 18.03.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 12.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 12.03.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.03.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.03.2008
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 03.04.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 13.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 13.03.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 21.04.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.03.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.03.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.04.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 19.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.04.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.03.2008
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 31.03.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 31.03.2008
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 12.03.2008
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 02.07.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.04.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 26.03.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 12.03.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.03.2008
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 02.04.2008
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 23.04.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 11.03.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 27.03.2008
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 25.03.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 11.03.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 13.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 12.03.2008
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 18.03.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 18.03.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.03.2008
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 29.04.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 12.03.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 21.04.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 26.03.2008
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 19.03.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 13.03.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 19.03.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 12.03.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.03.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 11.03.2008
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.03.2008
Soulsby, Peter Labour Party Leicester South 25.03.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 12.03.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 11.03.2008
Taylor, Ian Conservative Party Esher and Walton 26.03.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 12.03.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 12.03.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 12.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 17.03.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 25.03.2008
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 11.03.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 12.03.2008
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 18.03.2008