Early day motion 1142

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its concern that proposals included in the Employment (Simplification) Bill and the recent consultation Transforming Tribunals could lead to a situation wherein the long standing practice of tripartite decision making in employment related matters is severely reduced; believes that such decision making has stood the test of time; acknowledges the key role that a legally qualified chairperson plays in the system; is convinced that the experience of lay members in the real world of work is an essential component of the system; notes that many lay members are concerned that their role is to be downgraded; and calls on the Government to put in place a system that builds on, rather than loses, the expertise of lay members.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.03.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 19.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.03.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.03.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.03.2008
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 12.03.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 11.03.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 11.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 13.03.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 10.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 11.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.04.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.03.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.03.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 17.03.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 19.03.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 10.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.03.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 27.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 26.03.2008
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 10.03.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.03.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 13.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 11.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 13.03.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.03.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 11.03.2008
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 12.03.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 18.03.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 12.03.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2008
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 31.03.2008
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 10.03.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 20.03.2008
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 10.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.03.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 19.03.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 12.03.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 30.04.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 12.03.2008
Waltho, Lynda Labour Party Stourbridge 18.03.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 11.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 17.03.2008