Early day motion 1107

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House deplores the actions of Tesco in setting up companies in the Cayman Islands to avoid paying over £1 billion of taxes in the UK; believes that if the Government does not take action to deal with this practice it will lead to other companies taking similar measures to avoid paying taxes in order to compete with Tesco; notes that in order to carry out its business from day-to-day Tesco relies on a wide range of public services that are paid for with money raised from UK taxpayers; notes that Tesco's actions will starve British citizens of resources for vital services including the NHS, schools and police; further believes that Tesco has a moral obligation to pay the full amount of taxes due to the UK; and calls on the Government to investigate this matter, ensure that Tesco pays the full amount of tax due to the UK and to take steps to prevent this type of tax avoidance method from being exploited by companies in the future.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 55

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 55 out of 55

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.03.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 05.03.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 04.03.2008
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 04.03.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 04.03.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.03.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.03.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 04.03.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.03.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 10.03.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 06.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 04.03.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 05.03.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 04.03.2008
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 04.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 11.03.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 14.03.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 04.03.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 04.03.2008
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 04.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 05.03.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 04.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 10.03.2008
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 04.03.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.03.2008
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 20.03.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 04.03.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 07.03.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.03.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 04.03.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 23.04.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 04.03.2008
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 05.03.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.03.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 04.03.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 04.03.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 04.03.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 05.03.2008
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 13.03.2008
Waltho, Lynda Labour Party Stourbridge 04.03.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 05.03.2008
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 10.03.2008
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 19.03.2008