Early day motion 1099

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its revulsion at the mounting death toll in Gaza caused by Israeli military strikes; notes that around half of the 108 Palestinians killed in the six days between Wednesday 27th February and Monday 3rd March 2008 were civilians; also condemns the rocket and mortar attacks from Gaza which have killed one Israeli civilian in southern Israel in the last nine months and which, according to figures supplied by the British Israel Communications and Research Centre, have been responsible for the deaths of 24 Israelis since 2001; further notes that Israel's military strikes and its economic blockade of Gaza are achieving the opposite of their stated aim of deterring such rocket attacks; further notes that the strikes and blockade are causing widespread humanitarian suffering and, by collectively punishing the entire people of Gaza for the actions of those firing rockets, Israel's actions are contrary to international law; further notes the UN Security Council statement of 2nd March, and the statements from the United Kingdom Foreign Secretary and the EU Presidency dated 2nd March and 3rd March respectively; and therefore calls upon the international community to press for an immediate ceasefire in Israel, Gaza and the West Bank and adherence to international law by all parties, including requiring Israel to abide by its legal obligations as an internationally recognised state, and emphasises the United Kingdom's particular responsibility to ensure international compliance with humanitarian law as a High Contracting Party to the Fourth Geneva Convention.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 99

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 99 out of 99

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.03.2008
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 22.04.2008
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 12.03.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 03.03.2008
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 05.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.03.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 05.03.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 05.03.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 06.03.2008
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 05.03.2008
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 30.04.2008
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 03.03.2008
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 03.03.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 10.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.03.2008
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 06.03.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.03.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 06.03.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 19.03.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.03.2008
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 12.03.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 03.03.2008
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 11.03.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 04.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.03.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 06.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.03.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 03.03.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2008
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 18.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 03.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 11.03.2008
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 12.03.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 17.03.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 03.03.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 04.03.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 03.03.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 05.03.2008
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 18.03.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 11.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 04.03.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.03.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 03.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 04.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.03.2008
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 12.03.2008
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 12.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.03.2008
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 03.03.2008
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 03.03.2008
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 03.03.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 10.03.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 01.04.2008
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 03.03.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 04.03.2008
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 05.03.2008
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 07.03.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 12.03.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 05.03.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.03.2008
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.03.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.03.2008
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 31.03.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 13.03.2008
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 05.03.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 03.06.2008
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 21.04.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 03.03.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 04.03.2008
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 05.03.2008
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 02.04.2008
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 11.03.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.03.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 11.03.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.03.2008
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 19.05.2008
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 06.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 04.03.2008
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 03.03.2008
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 03.03.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 06.03.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 18.03.2008
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 21.04.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 05.03.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 05.03.2008
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 10.03.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 05.03.2008
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 03.03.2008
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 10.03.2008