Early day motion 1056

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Department of Health's announcement to increase the provision of talking therapy for depression; notes Professor Irving Kirsch's study of the manufacturer's trials of the SSRI anti-depressants Prozac, Seroxat and Efexor and his conclusion that these drugs are not effective; notes that there is zero cost-effectiveness to drugs that do not work; further notes that large numbers of people are involuntarily addicted to these drugs and suffer bizarre and severe side effects which leave them unable to work; calls upon the National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence to review the approval of these drugs; calls upon the Government to provide withdrawal clinics for people addicted to prescribed drugs; further calls upon the Government to provide appropriate rehabilitation to bring these people back into the workforce; urges the Government to organise controlled withdrawal of these drugs from the market; and further urges the Government to investigate how the manufacturers and distributors obtained product licences and to implement the recommendations of the Fourth Report of the Health Committee, Session 2004-05, on the Influence of the Pharmaceutical Industry, HC42-1, including an independent review of the UK drug licensing authority the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 28.02.2008
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 05.03.2008
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 11.03.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 05.03.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 03.03.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 28.02.2008
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 17.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.03.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 27.02.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.02.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 26.02.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.02.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 26.02.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.02.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 05.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 28.02.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 27.02.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2008
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 13.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 11.03.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 05.03.2008
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 21.04.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.02.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 17.03.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 27.02.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 26.02.2008
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 18.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 27.02.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 27.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 27.02.2008
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 26.02.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 27.02.2008
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 27.02.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 26.02.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 28.02.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 27.02.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.02.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 27.02.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 04.03.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 26.02.2008
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 26.02.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 26.02.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 03.03.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 21.04.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.03.2008
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 28.02.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 26.02.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 06.03.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 22.04.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 27.02.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.02.2008
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.04.2008
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 02.04.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 04.03.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 05.03.2008
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 26.02.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 26.02.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 27.02.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 27.02.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 27.02.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 03.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 03.03.2008
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 26.02.2008