Early day motion 772

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House deplores the Government's proposal to weaken the prohibition on the beak trimming of laying hens which is due to come into force on 1st January 2011 under paragraphs 8 and 9 of Schedule 3D to the Welfare of Farmed Animals (England) Regulations 2000 (as amended); fears that the Government's proposal will result in a substantial number of hens continuing to be beak-trimmed after 1st January 2011; believes that the dilution of an important legislative reform in the field of animal welfare is totally unacceptable; and calls on the Government to withdraw its proposal to weaken the prohibition on the beak trimming of laying hens which is due to come into force on 1st January 2011.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 31.01.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 31.01.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.02.2007
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 07.02.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.02.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 31.01.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.02.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 01.02.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 07.02.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 01.02.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 27.02.2007
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 01.02.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 31.01.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 31.01.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 06.02.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.02.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 07.02.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 06.02.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 07.02.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2007
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 31.01.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 01.02.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 02.02.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 06.02.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.02.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 31.01.2007
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 18.04.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 31.01.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.02.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 19.02.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 30.01.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 21.02.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 05.02.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 01.02.2007