Early day motion 2143

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the impartial European Scrutiny Committee concluded that the Reform Treaty is substantially equivalent to the original Constitutional Treaty; that the Government Manifesto promised a Referendum on the original treaty; that the Conservative Party voted against it in principle on the Second Reading of the Bill implementing that Treaty; that the Prime Minister said that he will reject the Reform Treaty if the Government's Red Lines are not guaranteed on 18th October, but (following the European Scrutiny Committee examination of the Foreign Secretary on 16th October) that these Red Lines do not satisfy UK vital national interests and that the European Court of Justice will determine these matters, not this House; that, contrary to the statements of the Foreign Secretary, parliamentary democracy is enhanced when this House, as the Labour Government in 1975, hands back a Referendum by Act of Parliament to the voters who elect Members of this House; that 27 million voters have been denied a Referendum on any European Question since 1975; that over 70 per cent. of the voters want a Referendum but that the reasons have to be fully explained; that the Reform Treaty is a consolidation of the existing treaties into a merger of the European Community into a European Union involving substantial, fundamental, constitutional and structural change by the Government's own criteria for a Referendum; and insists that the Prime Minister rejects the Reform Treaty on 18th October and holds a Referendum before or after ratification.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 17.10.2007
Ancram, Michael Conservative Party Devizes 17.10.2007
Bacon, Richard Conservative Party South Norfolk 17.10.2007
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 19.10.2007
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 17.10.2007
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 17.10.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.10.2007
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 17.10.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.10.2007
Carswell, Douglas Conservative Party Harwich 17.10.2007
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 17.10.2007
Chope, Christopher Conservative Party Christchurch 17.10.2007
Clappison, James Conservative Party Hertsmere 17.10.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 17.10.2007
Crabb, Stephen Conservative Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 22.10.2007
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 17.10.2007
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 17.10.2007
Dorries, Nadine Conservative Party Mid Bedfordshire 17.10.2007
Duddridge, James Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 17.10.2007
Duncan Smith, Iain Conservative Party Chingford and Woodford Green 17.10.2007
Dunne, Philip Conservative Party Ludlow 17.10.2007
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 23.10.2007
Fallon, Michael Conservative Party Sevenoaks 17.10.2007
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 17.10.2007
Fraser, Christopher Conservative Party South West Norfolk 17.10.2007
Hands, Greg Conservative Party Hammersmith and Fulham 17.10.2007
Holloway, Adam Conservative Party Gravesham 17.10.2007
Jenkin, Bernard Conservative Party North Essex 17.10.2007
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 17.10.2007
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 17.10.2007
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 17.10.2007
Liddell-Grainger, Ian Conservative Party Bridgwater 17.10.2007
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 24.10.2007
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 18.10.2007
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 17.10.2007
Redwood, John Conservative Party Wokingham 17.10.2007
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 17.10.2007
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 17.10.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 17.10.2007
Stuart, Graham Conservative Party Beverley and Holderness 17.10.2007
Tapsell, Peter Conservative Party Louth and Horncastle 17.10.2007
Walker, Charles Conservative Party Broxbourne 17.10.2007
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon and East Chelmsford 17.10.2007
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 17.10.2007
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 25.10.2007
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 17.10.2007
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 17.10.2007