Early day motion 2047

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the plans by ITV to amalgamate regional news services across the United Kingdom, in particular to merge ITV Border with Tyne Tees leaving a much more limited news operation in Carlisle to cover the franchise area in the south of Scotland and the north of England; regrets that there have been no details provided about future news coverage for the south of Scotland; believes that the proposals represent an undermining of ITV's public service broadcasting obligations; further notes that the proposals do not comply with the current ITV Border franchise agreement and will therefore require approval by the regulator Ofcom; welcomes the willingness of Mr Michael Grade, and other senior managers at ITV, to meet hon. and right hon. Members representing constituencies in the region; urges ITV to re-consider the proposals; and further urges that if ITV does not revise its plans, Ofcom reject them.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.10.2007
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 15.10.2007
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 11.10.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 10.10.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 15.10.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.10.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.10.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 09.10.2007
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 15.10.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 09.10.2007
Maclean, David Conservative Party Penrith and the Border 18.10.2007
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 16.10.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 10.10.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.10.2007
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 08.10.2007
Mundell, David Conservative Party Dumfriesshire Clydesdale and Tweeddale 10.10.2007
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 09.10.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 22.10.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 29.10.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 24.10.2007
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 09.10.2007