Early day motion 2028

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the fact that imperial measures will not now become an illegal form of measurement in the UK for the foreseeable future; abhors the fact that traders are not allowed to sell only in imperial measurements even if their customers specifically want to buy items in imperial measurements; calls on the Government to end this attack on people's freedom of choice by immediately bringing forward proposals to remove the legal requirement to sell in metric measurements and to de-criminalise the selling of goods in this traditional way; pays tribute to Steve Thoburn, who became a martyr for standing up and fighting for his customers and the rights of the British people; and supports the campaign to award him a posthumous pardon.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 08.10.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.10.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 10.10.2007
Crabb, Stephen Conservative Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 11.10.2007
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 26.07.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.10.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.10.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 10.10.2007
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 10.10.2007
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 15.10.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.10.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.10.2007
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 23.10.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 22.10.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 10.10.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 09.10.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 24.10.2007
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 11.10.2007
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 09.10.2007