Early day motion 1995

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Seventh Report of Session 2006-07 of the House of Commons Transport Committee on Novice Drivers, House of Commons Paper 954; supports the Report's recommendations for a more structured approach to learning to drive; deplores the statistics which show there were 477 young drivers killed on Britain's roads in 2005; recognises the importance of a lifelong learning approach to driving safely and the need to start safe driving education in schools to equip young people with the skills and attitudes to drive for life; believes that there is a need to reform the driver training and testing system to enable novice drivers to have supervised lessons on motorways and instruction on night driving; and calls on the Government to prioritise the Driving Standards Agency review of driver training to enable novice drivers to gain broad experience before taking their driving test to equip them for the challenges on the roads of today and the future.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 45

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 45 out of 45

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 15.10.2007
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 09.10.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 26.07.2007
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 24.07.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 08.10.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 25.07.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.07.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 11.10.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 10.10.2007
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 09.10.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 25.07.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.10.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.07.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 15.10.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 08.10.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.07.2007
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 26.07.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 09.10.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 09.10.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 25.07.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 08.10.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 25.07.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 24.07.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.07.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 15.10.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 10.10.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 26.07.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.10.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.07.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 25.07.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 25.07.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 26.07.2007
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 25.07.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 24.07.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 25.07.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 22.10.2007
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 26.07.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.10.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 29.10.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 25.07.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 26.07.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 25.07.2007
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 24.07.2007
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 26.07.2007