Early day motion 1821

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with deep concern the collapse of First Solution Money Transfer Ltd leaving potentially thousands of customers with a loss of millions of pounds; recognises that this money represents the sweat of some of the poorest people in the United Kingdom who sought to send it to some of the poorest people in the world in Bangladesh and that constituents of a significant number of hon. Members have been affected; and further demands urgent action by HM Treasury to ensure that this financial scandal, some of which took place within yards of the City of London, whose representation for financial integrity is critical to the success of the UK economy, does not deprive poor people of their money and to introduce proper regulation of the money transfer business so that no further such financial disasters occur.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 35

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 35 out of 35

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 12.07.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.07.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 11.07.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.07.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 04.07.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.07.2007
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 09.07.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.07.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 12.07.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 05.07.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.07.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 12.07.2007
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 10.07.2007
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 03.07.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 09.07.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.07.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.07.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 09.07.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.07.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.07.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 04.07.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 24.07.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.07.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.07.2007
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 12.07.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 24.07.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 05.07.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 19.07.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 12.07.2007
Soulsby, Peter Labour Party Leicester South 16.07.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.07.2007
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 08.10.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 04.07.2007