Early day motion 1598

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that thousands of young aspiring actors and models are being defrauded by unscrupulous agencies who charge unwarranted up-front fees; further notes that, according to The Stage magazine, the vast majority receive no work in return; recalls the promise made by the Government in May 2006 that it would stamp out this practice; is concerned to note that not a single prosecution has since been made; and calls on the Government to fulfil its promise to prosecute rogue agencies and to close the legal loophole which allows this fraudulent activity to continue in the entertainment industry.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 100

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 100 out of 100

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 25.06.2007
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 04.07.2007
Atkinson, Peter Conservative Party Hexham 15.06.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 18.06.2007
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 12.06.2007
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 04.06.2007
Boswell, Tim Conservative Party Daventry 18.06.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.06.2007
Burt, Alistair Conservative Party North East Bedfordshire 08.10.2007
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 20.06.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 14.06.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 05.06.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.06.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.06.2007
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.07.2007
Clifton-Brown, Geoffrey Conservative Party Cotswold 04.06.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.06.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 05.06.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.06.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 05.06.2007
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 05.06.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.06.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 05.06.2007
Djanogly, Jonathan Conservative Party Huntingdon 04.06.2007
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 21.06.2007
Duncan, Alan Conservative Party Rutland and Melton 04.06.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.06.2007
Ellwood, Tobias Conservative Party Bournemouth East 25.06.2007
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 04.07.2007
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 05.06.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 28.06.2007
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 07.06.2007
Evennett, David Conservative Party Bexleyheath and Crayford 23.07.2007
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 28.06.2007
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 25.07.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 29.10.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 12.06.2007
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 29.10.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.06.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 14.06.2007
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 26.06.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 19.06.2007
Hammond, Philip Conservative Party Runnymede and Weybridge 05.07.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.06.2007
Hands, Greg Conservative Party Hammersmith and Fulham 21.06.2007
Harper, Mark Conservative Party Forest of Dean 11.06.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 11.06.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 07.06.2007
Hendry, Charles Conservative Party Wealden 04.06.2007
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 03.07.2007
Holloway, Adam Conservative Party Gravesham 26.06.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 05.06.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.06.2007
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 02.07.2007
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 15.06.2007
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 25.06.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 05.06.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 25.06.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.06.2007
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 26.06.2007
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 05.06.2007
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 13.06.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 11.07.2007
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 25.07.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 06.06.2007
Letwin, Oliver Conservative Party West Dorset 19.10.2007
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 05.06.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 06.06.2007
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 06.06.2007
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 05.06.2007
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.06.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 20.06.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.06.2007
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 11.06.2007
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 18.07.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 24.07.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 13.06.2007
Prisk, Mark Conservative Party Hertford and Stortford 04.06.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.07.2007
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 26.06.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 21.06.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 07.06.2007
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 09.07.2007
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 25.06.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 13.06.2007
Simpson, Keith Conservative Party Mid Norfolk 08.10.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 05.06.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 09.07.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 23.07.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 14.06.2007
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 18.10.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 26.06.2007
Vaizey, Edward Conservative Party Wantage 18.06.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 13.06.2007
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon and East Chelmsford 26.06.2007
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 23.07.2007
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 19.06.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 11.06.2007
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 25.06.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 07.06.2007