Early day motion 1575

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with great concern China's efforts to overturn a ban on the domestic sale of tiger parts used widely in Chinese medicine; supports WWF-India in its struggle to uphold the ban which protects India's fragile tiger population; recognises that China's proposed system of tiger farming would not protect wild tigers or stem poaching in India but would bolster the illegal market where poached tiger parts would be cheaper than those of farmed animals; notes with disappointment the failure by the Indian government to take a firm stance on the proposals; urges all Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species members to vote in favour of the ban at their meeting at the Hague on 3rd to 15th June; and further urges the Government to condemn an overturning of the ban and the practice of trading in endangered animal parts.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 63

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 63 out of 63

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 24.05.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.06.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 12.06.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 05.06.2007
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 07.06.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 14.06.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.06.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.06.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.07.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 05.06.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.06.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 05.06.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.06.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 26.06.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 12.06.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.06.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 28.06.2007
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 24.05.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.06.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 04.06.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.06.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 11.06.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 06.06.2007
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 11.06.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 19.06.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 04.06.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 07.06.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 20.06.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 04.06.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.06.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 04.06.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 05.06.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 25.06.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 04.06.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 12.06.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.06.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 05.06.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 06.06.2007
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 05.06.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 05.06.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 05.06.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 14.06.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 12.06.2007
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.06.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 20.06.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.06.2007
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 25.06.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 19.06.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 11.06.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.07.2007
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 04.06.2007
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 09.07.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 13.06.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 04.06.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 04.06.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 04.06.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 12.06.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 06.06.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 13.06.2007
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.06.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 11.06.2007
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.06.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 07.06.2007