Early day motion 1371

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the Government's commitment to tighten UK borders and introduce new monitoring and assessment systems into the immigration process; notes the Home Office assessment that up to 500,000 irregular migrants currently live and work in the UK; further recognises that the overwhelming majority of such migrants make a valuable economic contribution despite living under the shadow of illegality; acknowledges the Institute for Public Policy Research estimation that regularisation of certain groups of migrant workers could raise £1 billion in taxes; congratulates the Strangers into Citizens campaign for the one-off regularisation of long-term irregular migrants through a pathway to citizenship; and calls for a full cross-party debate to consider granting a two year work permit to migrants who have lived in the UK for more than four years, following which they would be granted indefinite leave to remain, subject to an English test and positive references from an employer or person of standing in the community.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 93

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 93 out of 93

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 27.04.2007
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 03.05.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 04.06.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 14.05.2007
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 01.05.2007
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 27.04.2007
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 10.05.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 30.04.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 10.05.2007
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 16.05.2007
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 27.04.2007
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 25.07.2007
Butler, Dawn Labour Party Brent South 17.10.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.05.2007
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 04.06.2007
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 17.05.2007
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.05.2007
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 15.05.2007
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 15.05.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.05.2007
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 27.06.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.05.2007
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 27.04.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.05.2007
Curry, David Conservative Party Skipton and Ripon 07.06.2007
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 27.06.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 01.05.2007
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 24.05.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 08.05.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.06.2007
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 14.05.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.05.2007
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 18.06.2007
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 25.06.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 08.05.2007
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 24.05.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 30.04.2007
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 30.04.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.05.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 27.04.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 01.05.2007
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 09.05.2007
Gummer, John Conservative Party Suffolk Coastal 05.07.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 21.05.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 01.05.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 27.04.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 14.05.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 08.10.2007
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 04.06.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.05.2007
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 14.05.2007
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 02.05.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.04.2007
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 30.04.2007
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 10.05.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 30.04.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 25.06.2007
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 02.05.2007
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 14.05.2007
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 10.05.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 02.05.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.05.2007
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 21.05.2007
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 17.05.2007
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 06.06.2007
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 08.10.2007
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 10.05.2007
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 01.05.2007
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.05.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 20.06.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 18.05.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 01.05.2007
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 14.05.2007
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 25.07.2007
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 03.05.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.05.2007
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 27.06.2007
Soulsby, Peter Labour Party Leicester South 01.05.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 27.04.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 10.05.2007
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 10.05.2007
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 14.05.2007
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 07.06.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 26.07.2007
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 16.05.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.05.2007
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 06.06.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 08.05.2007
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.06.2007
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 05.06.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 04.07.2007