Early day motion 373

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that over 25,000 people died in England in 2004 alone from venous thrombo-embolism (VTE) and that many of these deaths were preventable; further notes that the number of people who die from VTE in the UK each year is more than breast cancer, AIDS and road traffic accidents put together and over twenty times the number from hospital-acquired MRSA; welcomes the Health Select Committee Report on the Prevention of Venous Thromboembolism; urges the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence to extend the guidelines on VTE to cover the majority of hospital patients and bring forward their introduction; expresses concern that inexpensive drugs and other devices which can dramatically reduce the chances of hospital patients developing a blood clot, and are routinely available, are not being widely used; supports the recommendation of the committee that each hospital create a thrombosis team charged with reducing patient risk; recognises the attention given to this crucial public health issue as a result of their report; congratulates Lifeblood: The Thrombosis Charity and the Thrombosis Research Institute for their continuing role in raising awareness and the success of Thrombosis Awareness Week; and calls on the Government to implement all the Health Select Committee's recommendations as a matter of urgency to halt the alarming number of avoidable deaths.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 80

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 80 out of 80

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 18.07.2005
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.07.2005
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 07.07.2005
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 06.07.2005
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 21.06.2005
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 29.06.2005
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 23.06.2005
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 10.11.2005
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 21.06.2005
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.06.2005
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.07.2005
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 20.10.2005
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 11.07.2005
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 27.10.2005
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.06.2005
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.07.2005
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.07.2005
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 28.06.2005
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 22.06.2005
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.06.2005
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 22.06.2005
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 22.06.2005
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 27.06.2005
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.07.2005
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 14.07.2005
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 29.06.2005
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 14.07.2005
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.06.2005
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 18.07.2005
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 22.06.2005
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 18.07.2005
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 07.11.2005
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.06.2005
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 23.06.2005
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 27.06.2005
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.07.2005
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 22.06.2005
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 22.06.2005
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 20.07.2005
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 23.06.2005
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 21.06.2005
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 28.06.2005
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 21.06.2005
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 18.10.2005
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 11.07.2005
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow East 29.06.2005
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.07.2005
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.07.2005
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.06.2005
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 22.06.2005
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 26.04.2006
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 19.07.2005
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 22.06.2005
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 29.06.2005
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 23.06.2005
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 27.06.2005
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.06.2005
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 10.10.2005
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 13.07.2005
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 11.07.2005
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.06.2005
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 14.07.2005
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 30.06.2005
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 13.07.2005
Smith, John P Labour Party Vale of Glamorgan 20.06.2005
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 21.06.2005
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 19.07.2005
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 21.06.2005
Taylor, Richard INDEPENDENT Wyre Forest 20.06.2005
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 12.07.2005
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 21.06.2005
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 29.06.2005
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 22.06.2005
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 04.07.2005
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 04.07.2005
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 30.06.2005
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 22.06.2005
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 18.07.2005
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 22.06.2005
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 21.07.2005