Early day motion 317

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the grave injustice meted out to Lt Col Paddy Mayne, of 1st, SAS, who won the Victoria Cross at Oldenburg in North West Germany on 9th April 1945; notes that this was subsequently downgraded, some six months later, to a third bar DSO, that the citation had been clearly altered and that David Stirling, founder of the SAS has confirmed that there was considerable prejudice towards Mayne and that King George VI enquired why the Victoria Cross had `so strangely eluded him'; further notes that on 14th December it will be 50 years since Col Mayne's untimely death, in a car accident, and this will be followed on 29th January 2006 by the 150th anniversary of the signing of the Royal Warrant to institute the Victoria Cross; and therefore calls upon the Government to mark these anniversaries by instructing the appropriate authorities to act without delay to reinstate the Victoria Cross given for exceptional personal courage and leadership of the highest order and to acknowledge that Mayne's actions on that day saved the lives of many men and greatly helped the allied advance on Berlin.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 15.03.2006
Bacon, Richard Conservative Party South Norfolk 04.07.2005
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 10.10.2005
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 21.07.2005
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.06.2005
Burns, Simon Conservative Party West Chelmsford 09.01.2006
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 15.06.2005
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.06.2005
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 21.06.2005
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.06.2005
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 16.06.2005
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 15.06.2005
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.06.2005
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 22.06.2005
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 07.11.2005
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 05.07.2005
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 12.10.2005
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 14.06.2005
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.06.2005
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 15.06.2005
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 22.06.2005
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 07.07.2005
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.06.2005
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 15.06.2005
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 11.10.2005
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 12.07.2005
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 16.06.2005
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 20.07.2005
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 12.07.2005
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.07.2005
Newmark, Brooks Conservative Party Braintree 21.07.2005
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 22.06.2005
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 16.06.2005
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.06.2005
Robinson, Peter Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 18.07.2005
Shapps, Grant Conservative Party Welwyn Hatfield 26.01.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 30.06.2005
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.06.2005
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 15.06.2005
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 16.06.2005
Wallace, Ben Conservative Party Lancaster and Wyre 21.06.2005
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 04.07.2005
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 10.10.2005
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 28.10.2005