Early day motion 2848

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware that since July 2005 mesothelioma victims in Scotland have had access to the drug Alimta, which is the only licensed treatment for this tumour; welcomes the decision of the Cancer Networks and primary care trusts that have made Alimta available in parts of England and Wales; urges them and the NHS Quality Improvement Scotland to stand by their decision irrespective of what the National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) decides at the appeal hearing on 27th October 2006; notes that Alimta is priced lower in the UK than in other European countries and that the NHS budget impact for 2006 will only be £3 million; is concerned that NICE has indicated that it is currently not minded to recommend Alimta despite accepting its efficacy; calls on it to reconsider the applicability of its appraisal methodology; recognises the additional duty of care on Government to workers from the former nationalised industries negligently exposed to asbestos; and calls on the Secretary of State for Health to acknowledge that, in this case, she has a wider social responsibility that goes beyond the NICE definition of cost-effectiveness.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 99

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 99 out of 99

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.10.2006
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 07.11.2006
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 24.10.2006
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 24.10.2006
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 24.10.2006
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 24.10.2006
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 26.10.2006
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East and Wallsend 24.10.2006
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 24.10.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.10.2006
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 24.10.2006
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 24.10.2006
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.10.2006
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 25.10.2006
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 25.10.2006
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 24.10.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.10.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.10.2006
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 24.10.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 24.10.2006
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 24.10.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 26.10.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 24.10.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.10.2006
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 31.10.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.10.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.10.2006
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 24.10.2006
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 02.11.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 01.11.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 24.10.2006
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 25.10.2006
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 24.10.2006
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 24.10.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 24.10.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 24.10.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.10.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 06.11.2006
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 24.10.2006
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 26.10.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 24.10.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 25.10.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.10.2006
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 24.10.2006
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 24.10.2006
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 24.10.2006
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 25.10.2006
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 24.10.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 24.10.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 06.11.2006
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 24.10.2006
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 24.10.2006
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 24.10.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 31.10.2006
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 24.10.2006
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 24.10.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 06.11.2006
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 24.10.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 26.10.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 24.10.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 24.10.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.11.2006
McFall, John Labour Party West Dunbartonshire 24.10.2006
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 25.10.2006
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 24.10.2006
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 26.10.2006
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 24.10.2006
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 26.10.2006
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 24.10.2006
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 02.11.2006
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 24.10.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 26.10.2006
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 24.10.2006
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 26.10.2006
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 24.10.2006
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 24.10.2006
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.10.2006
Rooney, Terry Labour Party Bradford North 24.10.2006
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 25.10.2006
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 06.11.2006
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 24.10.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 24.10.2006
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.11.2006
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.10.2006
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 24.10.2006
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 25.10.2006
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 24.10.2006
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 25.10.2006
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 24.10.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 26.10.2006
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 24.10.2006
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 25.10.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 30.10.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.10.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 30.10.2006
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 26.10.2006
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 07.11.2006
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 31.10.2006
Wright, Tony Labour Party Cannock Chase 24.10.2006