Early day motion 2787

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the recent outstanding success of the International Chess Tournament held in Liverpool between 6th and 15th September, noting that this was the first international chess tournament held in the UK since 1986 and the first in Liverpool since 1923; recognises the sponsors including Liverpool John Moores University, the Mersey Partnership, the World Museum and the Liverpool Culture Company for their support for the event; believes that this was a major boost to Liverpool's reputation not least because it received massive internet exposure by the live transmission of the matches on the tournament website which was visited by 8.6 million people from 104 different countries, 1.25 million people logged on to the live transmission on the final day, 76 per cent. of whom stayed online for an hour or more; and congratulates British Grandmaster Nigel Short on winning the tournament in a strong field of international players as well as recognising the Grandmaster norms achieved by two young British players.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 75

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 75 out of 75

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 17.10.2006
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 17.10.2006
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 17.10.2006
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 17.10.2006
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 17.10.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.10.2006
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East and Wallsend 17.10.2006
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 17.10.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.10.2006
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 18.10.2006
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 17.10.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.10.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 25.10.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.10.2006
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 17.10.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 17.10.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 17.10.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 18.10.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.10.2006
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 17.10.2006
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 17.10.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.10.2006
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 17.10.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 18.10.2006
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 17.10.2006
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 17.10.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.10.2006
Hands, Greg Conservative Party Hammersmith and Fulham 19.10.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 19.10.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 17.10.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.10.2006
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 17.10.2006
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 17.10.2006
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 18.10.2006
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 17.10.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 06.11.2006
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 17.10.2006
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 17.10.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.10.2006
Keeley, Barbara Labour Party Worsley 17.10.2006
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 17.10.2006
Kennedy, Jane Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 17.10.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 18.10.2006
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 17.10.2006
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 17.10.2006
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 17.10.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 17.10.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 18.10.2006
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 17.10.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 02.11.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.11.2006
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 17.10.2006
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.10.2006
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 17.10.2006
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 17.10.2006
Mole, Chris Labour Party Ipswich 17.10.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 19.10.2006
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 17.10.2006
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 17.10.2006
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 18.10.2006
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 26.10.2006
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 19.10.2006
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 17.10.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 17.10.2006
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 31.10.2006
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 17.10.2006
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.10.2006
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 17.10.2006
Ussher, Kitty Labour Party Burnley 17.10.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 18.10.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 17.10.2006
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 18.10.2006
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 23.10.2006
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 02.11.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 17.10.2006