Early day motion 2490

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the recent report by Lord Carlile, the Government's Independent Reviewer of anti-terrorism and national security legislation, on the lack of a customs presence at ports and airports across the country; notes the past successes of staff in Customs and Excise in detecting and preventing prohibited materials, including drugs and firearms from entering communities; encourages the Paymaster General and Chairman of Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs urgently to meet the custom officers' union, the Public and Commercial Services Union (PCS) to address these issues and to ensure the Chancellor's efficiency savings do not further hamper securing the nation's borders; and calls on the Government to open an inquiry into customs cover at UK points of entry in order to address the concerns raised by Lord Carlile and PCS about the inadequate customs cover at all UK points of entry and to provide real solutions for secure UK borders.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 09.10.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 24.07.2006
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 04.07.2006
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 05.07.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 12.07.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.07.2006
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.07.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.07.2006
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 03.07.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 11.07.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 05.07.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.07.2006
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.07.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 06.07.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 06.07.2006
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 17.07.2006
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 04.07.2006
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 18.07.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 06.07.2006
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 16.10.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 12.07.2006
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 13.07.2006
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 03.07.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 20.07.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 03.07.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 13.07.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 03.07.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2006
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 06.07.2006
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 09.10.2006
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 05.07.2006
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 13.07.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.07.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.07.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 03.07.2006
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 13.07.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 10.07.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 10.07.2006
McCarthy-Fry, Sarah Labour Party Portsmouth North 14.07.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.07.2006
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 09.10.2006
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 18.07.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.10.2006
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 09.10.2006
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 06.07.2006
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 05.07.2006
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 03.07.2006
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 04.07.2006
Short, Clare Labour Party Birmingham Ladywood 12.07.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 06.07.2006
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 05.07.2006
Swayne, Desmond Conservative Party New Forest West 09.10.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 06.07.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 04.07.2006
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.07.2006
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 25.07.2006
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.07.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 04.07.2006
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 18.07.2006
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 14.07.2006