Early day motion 2251

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that in 2002 the Belgian Royal Museum of Africa commissioned a panel to investigate the nature and scale of atrocities committed by the then colonial authorities in what is now the Democratic Republic of Congo; notes the commission was due to report in 2004, but no report seems to have been published; believes that many millions, estimated in 1919 at 50 per cent. of the population by official bodies of the Belgian Colonial government, died under the regime of King Leopold II between 1885 and 1908 in what was the world's only privately controlled colony, exposed in part by activists such as Roger Casement, British journalist E.D. Morel and UK, US and Swedish missionaries; whilst recognising the sensitivity of these matters in Belgium, believes the full truth should be known; and calls upon the Belgian government to publish all the evidence that is available and to apologise to the people of the Congo for the tragedy of King Leopold's regime, which can only be classed as genocide.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.06.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.05.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 14.06.2006
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 24.05.2006
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 08.06.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.06.2006
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.06.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.05.2006
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 24.05.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 07.06.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.06.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 20.06.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.06.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 07.06.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 24.05.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.05.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.06.2006
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 24.05.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 12.06.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 12.06.2006
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 05.06.2006
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.05.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 12.06.2006
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 24.05.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 14.06.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.06.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 22.06.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 25.05.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 29.06.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.06.2006
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 24.05.2006
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.06.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.06.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 07.06.2006
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 07.06.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 07.06.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 05.06.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 07.06.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.06.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.05.2006
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.05.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 07.06.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.10.2006
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 06.07.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.06.2006
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 05.06.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.06.2006
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 05.06.2006