Early day motion 2204

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that the argument for new nuclear build in the UK has not been made; notes that even with an accelerated planning system, new nuclear power stations could not contribute either to plugging the `energy gap' or to carbon reductions by 2020 when existing electricity generating capacity is run down and carbon emissions have to be curbed; further notes that existing electricity generation is provided by 40 per cent. gas, 33 per cent. coal, 19 per cent. nuclear and four per cent. renewables, that massive investment in new infrastructure is providing for a diversity of gas supply from many countries including Norway, with Russian gas only around one per cent. and that new clean coal technologies are now available; further notes that the supply of wind power is growing faster than predicted, and that in Germany wind power capacity is already equivalent to UK nuclear capacity; further believes that new nuclear build would be inconsistent with environmental sustainability, adding to the legacy of highly toxic nuclear waste and the huge public cost of decommissioning and storage; urges the Government to see the bigger picture in which electricity accounts for just 18 per cent. of total energy consumed and energy use by sector was last recorded as 36 per cent. transport, 30 per cent. domestic, 21 per cent. industry and 13 per cent. other; and further urges the Government to recognise the enormous potential for reducing energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions by energy efficiency and conservation, greater use of combined heat and power, and rapid investment in the full range of renewable technologies, including microgeneration.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 97

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 97 out of 97

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 24.05.2006
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 23.05.2006
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.06.2006
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 12.06.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 14.06.2006
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 23.05.2006
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 25.05.2006
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 25.05.2006
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 23.05.2006
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 24.05.2006
Butler, Dawn Labour Party Brent South 29.06.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 22.05.2006
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 21.06.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.05.2006
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 22.05.2006
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 25.05.2006
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 23.05.2006
Clegg, Nick Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 20.06.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 22.05.2006
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 23.05.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.05.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 23.05.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 24.05.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 18.05.2006
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 09.10.2006
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 24.05.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.05.2006
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 25.05.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 05.06.2006
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 03.07.2006
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 24.05.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.05.2006
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 23.05.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 18.05.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 22.05.2006
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 17.05.2006
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 17.05.2006
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 25.05.2006
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 25.05.2006
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 25.05.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 25.05.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 18.05.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 22.05.2006
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 09.10.2006
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 12.06.2006
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 12.07.2006
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 24.05.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 29.06.2006
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 22.05.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 22.05.2006
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 08.06.2006
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 17.05.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 23.05.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 22.05.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 09.10.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 05.06.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.05.2006
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 17.05.2006
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 13.06.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 17.05.2006
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 17.05.2006
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 09.10.2006
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 22.05.2006
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 06.06.2006
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 23.05.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.10.2006
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 24.05.2006
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 07.06.2006
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 24.05.2006
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 24.05.2006
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 23.05.2006
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 17.05.2006
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.05.2006
Short, Clare Labour Party Birmingham Ladywood 23.05.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.06.2006
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 25.05.2006
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.06.2006
Soulsby, Peter Labour Party Leicester South 17.05.2006
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 22.05.2006
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 25.07.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 22.05.2006
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 23.05.2006
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 25.05.2006
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 23.05.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 24.05.2006
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.05.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 22.05.2006
Whitehead, Alan Labour Party Southampton Test 17.05.2006
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 25.07.2006
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 23.05.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 24.05.2006
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 19.07.2006
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 19.06.2006
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 23.05.2006
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 05.06.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 22.05.2006
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 05.06.2006