Early day motion 2048

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the 175th anniversary of the birth in Edinburgh on 13th June 1831 of the great Scottish scientist James Clerk Maxwell; notes that by discovering the nature of electromagnetic waves he paved the way for radio, television, radar and the mobile telephone; acknowledges the tributes paid to him by Max Planck who described his theory as `one of the greatest triumphs of human intellectual endeavour' and Einstein who said `One scientific epoch ended and another began with James Clerk Maxwell'; congratulates the James Clerk Maxwell Foundation on preserving his birthplace in Edinburgh and promoting the study of science by young people; further notes the programme of events to honour Maxwell in this anniversary year; and encourages all who wish to learn more to visit the website at www.maxwellyear2006.org.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 108

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 108 out of 108

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 17.05.2006
Alexander, Danny Liberal Democrats Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 21.06.2006
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 03.05.2006
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 10.05.2006
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.06.2006
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.05.2006
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 28.06.2006
Blunt, Crispin Conservative Party Reigate 19.06.2006
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 10.05.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 02.05.2006
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 22.06.2006
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 04.05.2006
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 03.05.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.05.2006
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.05.2006
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 28.06.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 03.05.2006
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 18.05.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.05.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.05.2006
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 15.05.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 03.05.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.05.2006
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 24.05.2006
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 12.05.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.05.2006
Duddridge, James Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 11.07.2006
Duncan, Alan Conservative Party Rutland and Melton 19.06.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 11.05.2006
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 02.05.2006
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 12.05.2006
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 03.05.2006
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.06.2006
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 15.05.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 03.05.2006
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 05.06.2006
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.05.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 18.05.2006
Gove, Michael Conservative Party Surrey Heath 08.05.2006
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 25.05.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 10.05.2006
Hands, Greg Conservative Party Hammersmith and Fulham 27.06.2006
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 12.07.2006
Heald, Oliver Conservative Party North East Hertfordshire 26.06.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.05.2006
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 16.05.2006
Hendry, Charles Conservative Party Wealden 19.06.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 22.05.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.05.2006
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 04.05.2006
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 12.05.2006
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 23.05.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.05.2006
Jenkin, Bernard Conservative Party North Essex 23.05.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 25.05.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 02.05.2006
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 17.05.2006
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 11.05.2006
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 15.05.2006
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 28.06.2006
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 27.04.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.05.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 03.05.2006
Luff, Peter Conservative Party Mid Worcestershire 29.06.2006
MacDougall, John Labour Party Glenrothes 16.05.2006
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.05.2006
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 27.06.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 10.05.2006
McCarthy-Fry, Sarah Labour Party Portsmouth North 24.05.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.11.2006
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 04.05.2006
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 11.05.2006
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 13.06.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 18.05.2006
Mundell, David Conservative Party Dumfriesshire Clydesdale and Tweeddale 03.05.2006
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 06.06.2006
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 26.06.2006
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.06.2006
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 03.05.2006
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 11.05.2006
Rifkind, Malcolm Conservative Party Kensington and Chelsea 04.05.2006
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 11.05.2006
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 03.05.2006
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 26.06.2006
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 18.05.2006
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 17.05.2006
Short, Clare Labour Party Birmingham Ladywood 17.05.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 04.05.2006
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 15.05.2006
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 23.05.2006
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 02.05.2006
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 17.05.2006
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 17.05.2006
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 02.05.2006
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 27.06.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 03.05.2006
Taylor, Richard INDEPENDENT Wyre Forest 23.05.2006
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 16.06.2006
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 23.05.2006
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 03.05.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.05.2006
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.05.2006
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 02.05.2006
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 11.05.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.06.2006
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.05.2006
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 09.05.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 03.05.2006