Early day motion 1998

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates BBC Today reporter Andy Hosken on his book, Nothing Like a Dame, recounting the story of Dame Shirley Porter's regime at Westminster City Council; is reminded of the appalling consequences of her reign of terror, including the 15 pence sale of cemeteries, Homes for Votes gerrymandering, the placing of homeless families in asbestos-ridden tower blocks, the distribution of the whole of the Council's resources to her key ward strategy, and the attempted cover-ups, all exposed by John Magill, District Auditor; notes Mr Hosken's finding, that Porter's alleged achievements leading to the honour of DBE were the illusory product of public relations rather than genuine services delivery; further notes Porter's strenuous effort to avoid paying her liabilities; remembers the consistent failure of the Conservative Party to apologise for her illegal policies and the harm caused; and calls upon the Government to recommend to Her Majesty the Queen, that the honour of DBE should be withdrawn, it having been awarded under false pretences, and representing an affront to those whose public service genuinely merits such recognition.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 03.05.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 25.04.2006
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 20.04.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.04.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.04.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 26.04.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.05.2006
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 25.04.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 04.05.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 24.04.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 20.04.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.04.2006
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 10.05.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 11.05.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 27.04.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 24.04.2006
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 24.04.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.05.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 25.04.2006
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 27.04.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.04.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 27.04.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.11.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 27.04.2006
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 25.04.2006
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.05.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 26.04.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 26.04.2006