Early day motion 1760

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the phenomenal response to the campaign organised by the Daily Express newspaper to abolish inheritance tax, culminating in a 200,000 signature petition to the Treasury; believes that the failure of inheritance tax thresholds to keep pace with house price inflation has meant that millions of ordinary households are now liable for death duty and that inheritance tax is an inefficient and an immoral tax for the recently bereaved; and urges the Government urgently to consider abolishing inheritance tax.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 27.03.2006
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 07.03.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.03.2006
Brokenshire, James Conservative Party Hornchurch 07.03.2006
Burrowes, David Conservative Party Enfield Southgate 29.03.2006
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.03.2006
Carswell, Douglas Conservative Party Harwich 07.03.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 09.03.2006
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 16.03.2006
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.03.2006
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 13.03.2006
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 07.03.2006
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 21.03.2006
Hands, Greg Conservative Party Hammersmith and Fulham 14.03.2006
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 14.03.2006
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 08.03.2006
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 07.03.2006
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 18.04.2006
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 16.03.2006
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 16.03.2006
Paisley, Ian Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 13.03.2006
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 07.03.2006
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 29.03.2006
Robinson, Peter Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 13.03.2006
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 13.03.2006
Vara, Shailesh Conservative Party North West Cambridgeshire 15.03.2006
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 13.03.2006
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 08.03.2006
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 08.03.2006