Early day motion 1627

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House celebrates the first anniversary of the implementation of the Hunting Act 2004 and the end of the gratuitous cruelty of traditional hare-coursing, stag hunting and foxhunting; congratulates the hunts who changed to drag hunting, eliminating the prolonged pursuit and barbaric deaths of defenceless animals; is delighted that the Act did not destroy 35,000 jobs or the economy of the countryside nor lead to the putting down of thousands of hounds and horses; regrets that some compassionate concessions in the Act have been exploited to continue some blood sport activity; understands the cautious approach of the police in the past year but now calls for rigorous vigilance and prosecutions of breaches of the Act; and anticipates further advances in the welfare of game birds and circus animals and is confident that no future legislators will bring back the cruelty inherent in traditional hare-coursing, stag hunting and foxhunting.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 109

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 109 out of 109

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 28.02.2006
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 12.10.2006
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.03.2006
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 30.03.2006
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 03.03.2006
Barlow, Celia Labour Party Hove 13.03.2006
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 16.03.2006
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 27.02.2006
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 01.11.2006
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 28.03.2006
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 03.05.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 27.04.2006
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 02.03.2006
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 17.05.2006
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 15.02.2006
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 13.03.2006
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 16.03.2006
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.04.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.02.2006
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 09.03.2006
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 19.04.2006
Clegg, Nick Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 28.02.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.02.2006
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 27.02.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.02.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.04.2006
Creagh, Mary Labour Party Wakefield 26.04.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 15.02.2006
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 27.02.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 28.02.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 14.02.2006
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 02.03.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 28.02.2006
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 16.02.2006
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 07.03.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 27.02.2006
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 08.03.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.02.2006
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 27.02.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 15.02.2006
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 02.03.2006
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 24.07.2006
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 10.03.2006
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 31.10.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.02.2006
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 10.03.2006
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 25.07.2006
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 18.04.2006
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.02.2006
Hillier, Meg Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 25.04.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 27.02.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 14.02.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.04.2006
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 14.02.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 30.03.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 16.02.2006
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 23.10.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 14.02.2006
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 28.02.2006
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 20.03.2006
Khan, Sadiq Labour Party Tooting 02.05.2006
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 17.03.2006
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 31.10.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.02.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 15.02.2006
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.02.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 13.02.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 15.02.2006
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 02.03.2006
McCarthy-Fry, Sarah Labour Party Portsmouth North 02.03.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2006
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 06.07.2006
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 02.03.2006
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 16.03.2006
Mole, Chris Labour Party Ipswich 01.11.2006
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 14.02.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 15.03.2006
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 15.03.2006
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 28.02.2006
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 15.03.2006
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 28.02.2006
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 06.03.2006
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 13.02.2006
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 13.03.2006
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 10.03.2006
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 18.04.2006
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 02.05.2006
Seabeck, Alison Labour Party Plymouth Devonport 18.04.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.03.2006
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 14.02.2006
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 18.04.2006
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 08.03.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 16.02.2006
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 30.03.2006
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 02.05.2006
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 08.03.2006
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 20.03.2006
Ussher, Kitty Labour Party Burnley 18.07.2006
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 27.02.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 15.02.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 14.02.2006
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 14.02.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 27.02.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 15.02.2006
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 02.03.2006
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.03.2006
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 16.03.2006
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 25.10.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 15.02.2006