Early day motion 1449

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the growing consensus that defence of the international rule of law requires maintenance of the strictest standards for military and enforcement agencies at all levels of the chain of command; deplores those regimes that routinely permit those found guilty of serious crimes to evade justice or resume their military careers after a short sentence; believes that a culture of impunity inevitably erodes military discipline and undermines any peacekeeping role the military is required to undertake; further believes that the armed forces should be an example in this regard and should ensure its disciplinary system is beyond criticism; and urges the Government to affirm that human rights abusers, killers, rapists and bullies are permanently excluded from military service and to restore the certainty that any member of the armed services having been convicted by a court of the most serious of crimes such as murder, rape or torture shall be dismissed from service and may not resume a service career.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 55

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 55 out of 55

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 30.01.2006
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 06.02.2006
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 26.01.2006
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 20.04.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.01.2006
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 01.02.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 26.01.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.01.2006
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 26.01.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 25.01.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.01.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 24.01.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 26.01.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 24.01.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 24.01.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 23.01.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.01.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.01.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 01.02.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2006
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 13.02.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.01.2006
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 07.02.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 09.02.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 31.01.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.01.2006
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 06.02.2006
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 23.01.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 13.02.2006
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 25.01.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.01.2006
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 01.02.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.01.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 30.01.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 31.01.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 24.04.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.02.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 31.01.2006
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.02.2006
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 25.01.2006
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 19.07.2006
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 16.02.2006
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.02.2006
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 25.01.2006
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 08.03.2006
Short, Clare Labour Party Birmingham Ladywood 27.04.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.02.2006
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 09.02.2006
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 13.03.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 24.01.2006
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 23.01.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 01.02.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 30.01.2006
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 02.02.2006
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 28.02.2006