Early day motion 1349

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the expeditious processing, over the last three years, of asbestos-induced cancer cases by the introduction of a fast track system in the Queen's Bench Division of the High Court; recognises that it has dramatically reduced litigation time for both live plaintiffs and surviving relations; is concerned that this progress has been put in jeopardy by the Department for Constitutional Affairs in its consultation paper Focussing Judicial Resources Appropriately - The Right Judge for the Right Case by proposing an end to some civil specialisms including mesothelioma; and calls on the Lord Chancellor to review the proposal and recognise mesothelioma as a specialism.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 73

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 73 out of 73

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.01.2006
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 19.01.2006
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 16.01.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.01.2006
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 17.01.2006
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 16.01.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.01.2006
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 11.01.2006
Clegg, Nick Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 27.02.2006
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 30.01.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 12.01.2006
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 11.01.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 18.01.2006
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 08.02.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.02.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 17.01.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 12.01.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.01.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.01.2006
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 17.01.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 16.01.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2006
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 12.01.2006
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 17.01.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 23.01.2006
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 11.01.2006
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 30.01.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.01.2006
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 17.01.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 12.01.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 17.01.2006
Goodwill, Robert Conservative Party Scarborough and Whitby 28.02.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 11.01.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.01.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 24.01.2006
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.02.2006
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 17.01.2006
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 30.01.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 19.01.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.01.2006
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 16.01.2006
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 12.01.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 12.01.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.01.2006
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 16.01.2006
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 11.01.2006
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 18.01.2006
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 11.01.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 17.01.2006
Marris, Rob [R] Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 25.01.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 16.01.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 24.01.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.01.2006
McFall, John Labour Party West Dunbartonshire 12.01.2006
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.01.2006
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 16.03.2006
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 18.01.2006
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 19.01.2006
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 11.01.2006
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 24.01.2006
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 30.01.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.02.2006
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.01.2006
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 20.01.2006
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 16.01.2006
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 16.01.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 12.01.2006
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.01.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 18.01.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 16.01.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 16.01.2006
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 02.02.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 18.01.2006