Early day motion 254

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 10.12.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Efford, Clive
  • Sponsors:

    That this House welcomes the decision to terminate Connex's ownership of the South Eastern railway franchise and that this service will now be run by the public sector, through the Strategic Rail Authority; further welcomes the fact that this is the first passenger service to be brought back into public ownership since privatisation; is concerned, however, that despite the poor record of privatised train operators, the SRA is proposing automatically to re-privatise this service by inviting private sector tenders for this service without considering a public sector option; and urges the Government to use its powers under the Transport Act to retain the South Eastern franchise in the public sector to help promote an integrated public railway system and ensure a better deal for the passenger and tax payer.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 118

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 118 out of 118

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 10.03.2004
Atherton, Candy Labour Party Falmouth and Camborne 03.03.2004
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 10.12.2003
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 13.01.2004
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 08.03.2004
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 11.12.2003
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 24.03.2004
Bennett, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 24.03.2004
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 12.03.2004
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 11.03.2004
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 05.01.2004
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 27.04.2004
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 16.06.2004
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 18.06.2004
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 13.07.2004
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 04.02.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.12.2003
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.03.2004
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 10.03.2004
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge and Chryston 06.05.2004
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 23.03.2004
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 04.05.2004
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 25.02.2004
Coleman, Iain Labour Party Hammersmith and Fulham 10.12.2003
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 09.06.2004
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 17.05.2004
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 15.12.2003
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.12.2003
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 26.04.2004
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 09.06.2004
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 10.12.2003
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 01.03.2004
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 29.06.2004
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 27.04.2004
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 03.03.2004
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 19.04.2004
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 04.03.2004
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.12.2003
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 09.02.2004
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 10.03.2004
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 11.12.2003
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 10.12.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2004
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 18.03.2004
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 09.03.2004
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 05.03.2004
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 04.03.2004
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 01.03.2004
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 10.03.2004
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 01.04.2004
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 11.12.2003
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 17.05.2004
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 15.03.2004
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 26.02.2004
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.04.2004
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 10.03.2004
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 10.12.2003
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 10.03.2004
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.12.2003
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 15.12.2003
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 25.10.2004
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 07.06.2004
Hurst, Alan Labour Party Braintree 24.06.2004
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.12.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.03.2004
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 31.03.2004
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 10.05.2004
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.05.2004
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 22.03.2004
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 17.05.2004
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 03.02.2004
Macdonald, Calum Labour Party Western Isles 10.03.2004
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 08.06.2004
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 11.12.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 11.12.2003
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow Shettleston 04.03.2004
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 10.12.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 16.03.2004
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.12.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 23.02.2004
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 03.03.2004
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.03.2004
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 12.03.2004
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 10.03.2004
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 09.03.2004
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 16.11.2004
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 30.03.2004
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 27.02.2004
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 10.03.2004
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 23.02.2004
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 17.05.2004
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 10.12.2003
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 26.02.2004
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 17.05.2004
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 11.03.2004
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 17.03.2004
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 03.03.2004
Sedgemore, Brian Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 29.01.2004
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.12.2003
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 10.03.2004
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.12.2003
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 09.03.2004
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 10.03.2004
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East and Musselburgh 23.04.2004
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 17.05.2004
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 10.05.2004
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 17.05.2004
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 21.05.2004
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 10.03.2004
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 24.03.2004
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 07.09.2004
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.12.2003
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 17.12.2003
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 12.05.2004
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 15.12.2003
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 17.05.2004
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.03.2004
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 16.03.2004