Early day motion 1418

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2002-03
  • Date tabled: 16.06.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Mitchell, Austin
  • Sponsors:

    That this House is concerned at the dominance of the legal profession in the operation of the Office of the Legal Services Ombudsman, particularly in its production of unbalanced reports on the handling of client complaints about solicitors by solicitors at the Office of the Supervision of Solicitors and unfair adjudications which the Legal Services Ombudsman, as an agent dependent upon the legal profession merely signs; calls for compliance with the intent of Parliament by replacing the legal profession at the OLSO with independent lay investigators and permitting the Ombudsman to contract legal advice where appropriate; requires an assurance that publicly-funded OLSO personnel will not be deployed to the Office of the Law Society's part time Complaints Commissioner and that the present Ombudsman will not mimic the previous post holder by serving as an absentee figurehead unable to fulfil acknowledged duties; and further requires that in future the OLSO refrains from withholding details of publicly-funded assessments of the public perception of its performance from honourable Members and from the public.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Atkinson, David Conservative Party Bournemouth East 02.07.2003
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 16.07.2003
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 18.06.2003
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 20.06.2003
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 25.06.2003
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 17.06.2003
Burnham, Andy Labour Party Leigh 03.07.2003
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 01.07.2003
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 07.07.2003
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.07.2003
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.06.2003
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 25.06.2003
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 19.06.2003
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 30.06.2003
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 30.06.2003
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 07.07.2003
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 01.07.2003
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 18.06.2003
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 07.07.2003
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 01.07.2003
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 14.07.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 03.07.2003
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.06.2003
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 20.06.2003
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 30.06.2003
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 25.06.2003
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 18.06.2003
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.06.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.06.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 23.06.2003
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 30.06.2003
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 08.09.2003
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 26.06.2003
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow Shettleston 02.07.2003
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 01.07.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.06.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 18.06.2003
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 16.06.2003
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 14.07.2003
Organ, Diana Labour Party Forest of Dean 02.07.2003
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 02.07.2003
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 30.06.2003
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 14.07.2003
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.06.2003
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 02.07.2003
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 02.07.2003
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 07.07.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 02.07.2003
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 30.06.2003
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 07.07.2003
Stevenson, George Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 25.06.2003
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 30.06.2003
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 23.06.2003
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 30.06.2003
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.07.2003
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 19.06.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.07.2003
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 08.09.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 23.06.2003
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.07.2003