Early day motion 1347

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2002-03
  • Date tabled: 05.06.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Rosindell, Andrew
  • Sponsors:

    That this House expresses concern at the increasing number of dog thefts reported in the media; is further concerned that there is evidence of an organised trade in stolen dogs; notes that dogs are very special to the lives of thousands of people in Britain; urges all dog owners to look after the security and protection of their pets at all times; recognises The National Canine Defence League's belief that microchipping could prevent such crimes, alongside owners' responsibility; urges Her Majesty's Government to provide figures to substantiate, or otherwise, the recent media reports regarding the theft of man's best friend; and calls upon police forces around the country to take action to crack down on dog theft by organised gangs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 42

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 42 out of 42

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Adams, Irene Labour Party Paisley North 13.06.2003
Ainsworth, Peter Conservative Party East Surrey 12.11.2003
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 11.06.2003
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.06.2003
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 03.07.2003
Chidgey, David Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 16.06.2003
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 19.06.2003
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 11.06.2003
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.06.2003
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.06.2003
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.06.2003
Duncan, Peter Conservative Party Galloway and Upper Nithsdale 13.06.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2003
Gillan, Cheryl Conservative Party Chesham and Amersham 05.06.2003
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 16.06.2003
Grayling, Chris Conservative Party Epsom and Ewell 05.06.2003
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 11.06.2003
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.06.2003
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 19.06.2003
Hendry, Charles Conservative Party Wealden 05.06.2003
Hood, Jim Labour Party Clydesdale 13.06.2003
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 05.06.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 23.06.2003
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 10.06.2003
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.06.2003
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 09.06.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 09.06.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 10.06.2003
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 10.07.2003
Randall, John Conservative Party Uxbridge 05.06.2003
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 09.06.2003
Roe, Marion Conservative Party Broxbourne 09.06.2003
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 05.06.2003
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.06.2003
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 13.06.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 11.06.2003
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 05.06.2003
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 10.06.2003
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 12.06.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.06.2003
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 10.06.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 16.06.2003