Early day motion 1107

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2002-03
  • Date tabled: 29.04.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Burnside, David
  • Sponsors:

    That this House recognises the brave and valuable contribution made by the home service battalions of the Royal Irish Regiment, formerly the Ulster Defence Regiment, to the peace and security of life and property in Northern Ireland for over thirty years; believes that long-term peace and security in the province requires continuing vigilance and security provided by the continuation of the full operational capability of a minimum of three home battalions made more essential by the recent reduction in police numbers and international demands on army strength; and calls on Her Majesty's Government to retain the Royal Irish Regiment three home battalions.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 19

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 19 out of 19

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 30.04.2003
Burnside, David Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 29.04.2003
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.05.2003
Davies, Quentin Conservative Party Grantham and Stamford 21.05.2003
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.05.2003
Donaldson, Jeffrey Ulster Unionist Party Lagan Valley 12.05.2003
Flook, Adrian Conservative Party Taunton 12.05.2003
Garnier, Edward Conservative Party Harborough 30.04.2003
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 30.04.2003
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 14.05.2003
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.05.2003
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 16.06.2003
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 30.04.2003
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 07.05.2003
Swire, Hugo Conservative Party East Devon 07.05.2003
Trimble, David Ulster Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.04.2003
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 06.05.2003
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 06.05.2003
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 01.05.2003