Early day motion 84

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 04.07.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Burnham, Andy
  • Sponsors:

    That this House congratulates Leigh, Widnes, Rochdale, Oldham, Featherstone Rovers, Dewsbury, Hull Kingston Rovers and Keighley Rugby League clubs on reaching the play-offs of the Northern Ford Premiership; notes that the line-up includes clubs with a proud tradition and illustrious history in the Rugby Football League; believes that all sports need to hold out the hope of promotion to competitiors if they are to maintain their public appeal in the long-term; and calls on the Super League to accept the NFP league champions and NFP play-off winners into the Super League as a step towards establishing a proper system of promotion and relegation between the two leagues.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 20.07.2001
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 05.07.2001
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 05.07.2001
Burnham, Andy Labour Party Leigh 04.07.2001
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.07.2001
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 09.07.2001
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 17.07.2001
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.07.2001
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 10.07.2001
Hinchliffe, David [R] Labour Party Wakefield 04.07.2001
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 04.07.2001
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 11.07.2001
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 16.07.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 05.07.2001
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 10.07.2001
Smith, Chris Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 19.07.2001
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 29.10.2001
Taylor, Ann Labour Party Dewsbury 10.07.2001
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 05.07.2001
Turner, Neil Labour Party Wigan 04.07.2001
Twigg, Derek Labour Party Halton 04.07.2001
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 18.07.2001
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 05.07.2001
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 13.07.2001