Early day motion 222

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 15.10.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Wishart, Pete
  • Sponsors:

    That this House is concerned about the proposed alterations to the gaming laws which will restrict the cash jackpot payout from the gaming machines in members' and proprietary clubs; is further concerned about the effect that this will have on the incomes of these clubs; notes many clubs depend on the revenues generated by the jackpot machines; further notes that many of such clubs are non-profit making and the income from machines allows them to charge competitive prices and pay staff wages; further notes that the arguments over under 18s playing these machines are erroneous, as the rules are strictly adhered to and often membership of such clubs is restricted to over 18s; and further notes that any alteration to the legislation will have the knock on effects of loss of staff and services for the clubs and facilities for the community.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 101

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 101 out of 101

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 18.10.2001
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 14.11.2001
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 18.10.2001
Barker, Gregory Conservative Party Bexhill and Battle 01.11.2001
Barnes, Harry [R] Labour Party North East Derbyshire 16.10.2001
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 17.10.2001
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 05.12.2001
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 29.11.2001
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 16.11.2001
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 17.10.2001
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 24.10.2001
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 01.11.2001
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 23.10.2001
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 22.10.2001
Burnham, Andy Labour Party Leigh 24.10.2001
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 01.11.2001
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.10.2001
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 31.10.2001
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.12.2001
Chidgey, David Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 17.10.2001
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge and Chryston 23.10.2001
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 17.10.2001
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 24.10.2001
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 22.10.2001
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.11.2001
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 17.10.2001
Dalyell, Tam Labour Party Linlithgow 27.11.2001
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 17.10.2001
Dawson, Hilton Labour Party Lancaster and Wyre 24.10.2001
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 23.10.2001
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 19.10.2001
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 18.10.2001
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 16.10.2001
Ewing, Annabelle Scottish National Party Perth 16.10.2001
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 07.11.2001
Galloway, George Labour Party Glasgow Kelvin 24.10.2001
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 29.10.2001
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 01.11.2001
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 27.11.2001
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 01.11.2001
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 24.10.2001
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 18.10.2001
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.10.2001
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 21.03.2002
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 07.11.2001
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 25.10.2001
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 30.10.2001
Hood, Jim Labour Party Clydesdale 30.11.2001
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 17.10.2001
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 08.11.2001
Hurst, Alan Labour Party Braintree 27.11.2001
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 18.10.2001
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 24.10.2001
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 22.11.2001
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 23.10.2001
Joyce, Eric Labour Party Falkirk West 06.12.2001
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 11.12.2001
Kirkwood, Archy Liberal Democrats Roxburgh and Berwickshire 01.11.2001
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 25.10.2001
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 18.10.2001
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.10.2001
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 23.10.2001
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 22.10.2001
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 23.10.2001
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.10.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 23.10.2001
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 16.10.2001
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 23.10.2001
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale 08.11.2001
Munn, Meg Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 16.10.2001
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 17.10.2001
O'Neill, Martin Labour Party Ochil 05.12.2001
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.11.2001
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 16.10.2001
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 24.10.2001
Rendel, David Liberal Democrats Newbury 30.11.2001
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 23.10.2001
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 19.10.2001
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 30.10.2001
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 15.10.2001
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 31.10.2001
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 02.11.2001
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 16.10.2001
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 29.11.2001
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.10.2001
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 16.10.2001
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 09.11.2001
Taylor, Teddy Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 09.11.2001
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 16.10.2001
Todd, Mark Labour Party South Derbyshire 27.11.2001
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 31.10.2001
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 31.10.2001
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 19.10.2001
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 16.10.2001
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 17.10.2001
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 15.10.2001
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 14.01.2002
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 16.10.2001
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 07.11.2001
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party North Tayside 15.10.2001
Worthington, Tony Labour Party Clydebank and Milngavie 10.12.2001