Early day motion 1633

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 16.07.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Stunell, Andrew
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes that the greyhound racing industry has an annual turnover of in excess of ú75 million, that in the year 2000, 5,280 British greyhounds were registered with the Greyhound Racing Club, but that over 10,000 dogs were discarded or destroyed, and that provision of care is available for only a quarter of these animals; and therefore calls on the Government to include in the forthcoming Animal Welfare Bill provisions that safeguard the welfare of all greyhounds bred for racing.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 22.07.2002
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 18.07.2002
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 24.09.2002
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 24.10.2002
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 18.07.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 17.07.2002
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2002
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.07.2002
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.07.2002
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 18.07.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 17.07.2002
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 24.07.2002
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 24.07.2002
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 17.07.2002
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 24.07.2002
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 17.07.2002
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.07.2002
Drown, Julia Labour Party South Swindon 24.09.2002
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 18.07.2002
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.09.2002
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.07.2002
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 18.07.2002
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.07.2002
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 24.07.2002
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 19.07.2002
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2002
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 23.07.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 17.07.2002
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 17.07.2002
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 18.07.2002
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 23.07.2002
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 24.07.2002
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 18.07.2002
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 23.07.2002
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 18.07.2002
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.11.2002
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 19.07.2002
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.07.2002
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 18.07.2002
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 18.07.2002
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 17.07.2002
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.07.2002
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 22.07.2002
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 17.07.2002
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.07.2002
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 24.07.2002
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 17.07.2002
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 23.07.2002