Early day motion 1630

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 15.07.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Austin, John
  • Sponsors:

    That this House expresses its deep concern regarding the Government's recent change in the rules for obtaining export licences that allows British components for F-16 fighter jets to be sold to Israel via the United States of America; believes that this is a reversal of the position taken by Her Majesty's Government in November 2000 not to sell arms to Israel that could be used in the Occupied Territories; believes that this change contravenes the spirit of the EU Code of Conduct on Arms Exports (May 1998) by which the Government is bound; further notes that Israeli F-16 fighter aircraft have been used to bomb Palestinian civilian areas in breach of the Fourth Geneva Conventions and are involved on an almost daily basis in illegal activities in sovereign Lebanese airspace; and demands that the Government revoke its decision and ensure that the United Kingdom does not damage its declared neutral position in the conflict by aiding the current cycle of violence through the supply of arms that could be used to perpetrate further violations of the Fourth Geneva Convention.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 81

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 81 out of 81

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 15.07.2002
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 24.09.2002
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 15.10.2002
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 18.07.2002
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 16.07.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 17.07.2002
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 15.07.2002
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 24.07.2002
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 15.07.2002
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 24.09.2002
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.07.2002
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.07.2002
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.07.2002
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 05.11.2002
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 23.07.2002
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 18.07.2002
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 24.09.2002
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 23.07.2002
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.07.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 16.07.2002
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 16.07.2002
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.07.2002
Daisley, Paul Labour Party Brent East 24.09.2002
Davey, Valerie Labour Party Bristol West 23.07.2002
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 16.07.2002
Dawson, Hilton Labour Party Lancaster and Wyre 18.07.2002
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 18.07.2002
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 19.07.2002
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.07.2002
Drown, Julia Labour Party South Swindon 18.07.2002
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.09.2002
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 22.07.2002
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 17.07.2002
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 17.07.2002
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 24.09.2002
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 24.07.2002
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 17.07.2002
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.07.2002
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 24.07.2002
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 16.07.2002
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 18.07.2002
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 16.07.2002
Jackson, Helen Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 24.07.2002
Jackson, Robert Labour Party Wantage 15.07.2002
Jones, Jon Owen Labour Party Cardiff Central 24.07.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 16.07.2002
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 24.09.2002
King, Andy Labour Party Rugby and Kenilworth 24.09.2002
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.07.2002
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 16.07.2002
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 15.07.2002
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 16.07.2002
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 23.07.2002
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 17.07.2002
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 23.07.2002
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 23.07.2002
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.11.2002
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 19.07.2002
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.07.2002
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 22.07.2002
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 17.07.2002
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.07.2002
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 16.07.2002
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 24.07.2002
Rendel, David Liberal Democrats Newbury 24.09.2002
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.07.2002
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 23.07.2002
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 24.09.2002
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 24.09.2002
Sedgemore, Brian Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 22.07.2002
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 15.07.2002
Smith, Chris Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 24.09.2002
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 24.09.2002
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 15.07.2002
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 16.07.2002
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 18.07.2002
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 24.07.2002
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 15.07.2002
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 24.09.2002
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 17.07.2002
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 17.07.2002