Early day motion 1015

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 18.03.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Gibson, Ian
  • Sponsors:

    That this House welcomes the long-overdue guidance issued by the National Institute for Clinical Excellence on the NHS use of Herceptin (trastuzumab) in the treatment of HER2 positive advanced breast cancer; notes that one in nine women in the United Kingdom will suffer from breast cancer at some point in their lives, that patients who are HER2 positive have a poor prognosis with a median overall survival period from first diagnosis of only three years and that trastuzumab is the only drug treatment licensed in the United Kingdom specifically for the treatment of HER2 positive patients; further notes with concern that the appraisal process of this licensed treatment has taken 15 months; recognises that this delay has exacerbated, rather than alleviated, regional postcode variations in the availability of and funding for the treatment; and calls upon the Government, strategic health authorities, health authorities, local authorities and primary care trusts to ensure that the NICE guidance is implemented swiftly and in full so that all breast cancer patients who are eligible to receive this innovative treatment may obtain access to it on the NHS wherever they live.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 84

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 84 out of 84

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 02.05.2002
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.04.2002
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 25.03.2002
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 19.03.2002
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 25.03.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 20.03.2002
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 21.03.2002
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.03.2002
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 25.03.2002
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 25.03.2002
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.03.2002
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 17.04.2002
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.03.2002
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.03.2002
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 25.03.2002
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 18.04.2002
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 03.04.2002
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 23.04.2002
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.03.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 20.03.2002
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 20.03.2002
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 21.03.2002
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.03.2002
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 15.04.2002
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 21.03.2002
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 20.03.2002
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 26.03.2002
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.03.2002
Francois, Mark Conservative Party Rayleigh 19.03.2002
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 19.03.2002
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 18.03.2002
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 29.04.2002
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 25.03.2002
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 20.03.2002
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 25.03.2002
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.03.2002
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 26.03.2002
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 20.03.2002
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2002
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 21.03.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 25.03.2002
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 25.03.2002
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 18.04.2002
Knight, Jim Labour Party South Dorset 21.03.2002
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 20.03.2002
Lawrence, Jackie Labour Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 03.04.2002
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 03.04.2002
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 19.03.2002
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 03.04.2002
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 20.03.2002
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow Shettleston 10.04.2002
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 03.04.2002
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 21.03.2002
McFall, John Labour Party Dumbarton 19.03.2002
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.04.2002
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 20.03.2002
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 26.03.2002
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 20.03.2002
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 11.04.2002
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 19.03.2002
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 26.03.2002
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.03.2002
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 19.03.2002
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 20.05.2002
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.03.2002
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 16.04.2002
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 18.04.2002
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 21.03.2002
Smith, John P Labour Party Vale of Glamorgan 20.05.2002
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 19.03.2002
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 25.03.2002
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 19.03.2002
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 26.03.2002
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 30.04.2002
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 15.05.2002
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.03.2002
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 09.05.2002
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 20.03.2002
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 20.03.2002
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 19.03.2002
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 19.03.2002
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 26.03.2002
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 20.03.2002
Wray, Jimmy Labour Party Glasgow Baillieston 25.03.2002