Early day motion 502

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2000-01
  • Date tabled: 28.03.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Lewis, Julian
  • Sponsors:

    That this House salutes the memory of the five Hurricane fighter pilots of No. 30 Squadron, Royal Air Force, who gave their lives defending Ceylon against 125 Japanese naval aircraft on 5th April 1942; celebrates the courage and skill of the British, Canadian, Australian and American pilots of 30 Squadron, 22 of whom scrambled to get airborne while their airfield was already under attack, yet inflicted losses which put the Japanese at a crucial disadvantage in the subsequent battles of the Coral Sea and Midway; and applauds the efforts of the 30 Squadron Association to raise £8,000 for a 60th anniversary ceremony in 2002 and for a permanent memorial at Ratamala Airfield, Sri Lanka, dedicated to the memory of Sergeant Allan Browne RAFVR (Australian), Pilot Officer Garth Caswell RAAF (Australian), Pilot Officer Donald Geffene RAFVR (American), Flight Sergeant Tony Ovens DFM, RAFVR (British) and Flight Sergeant Thomas Paxton MiD, RAFVR (British).

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 107

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 107 out of 107

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 09.04.2001
Anderson, Donald Labour Party Swansea East 04.04.2001
Atkinson, David Conservative Party Bournemouth East 09.04.2001
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.04.2001
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 05.04.2001
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 04.04.2001
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 04.04.2001
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 09.04.2001
Bell, Martin INDEPENDENT Tatton 04.04.2001
Benn, Tony Labour Party Chesterfield 03.04.2001
Bermingham, Gerald Labour Party St Helens South 03.04.2001
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 04.04.2001
Blunt, Crispin Conservative Party Reigate 02.04.2001
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 30.03.2001
Brazier, Julian Conservative Party Canterbury 04.04.2001
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 01.05.2001
Bruce, Ian Conservative Party South Dorset 03.04.2001
Burnett, John Liberal Democrats Torridge and West Devon 02.04.2001
Butterfill, John Conservative Party Bournemouth West 02.04.2001
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 23.04.2001
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 03.04.2001
Campbell-Savours, DN Labour Party Workington 03.04.2001
Cann, Jamie Labour Party Ipswich 10.04.2001
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 03.04.2001
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.04.2001
Chapman, Sydney Conservative Party Chipping Barnet 01.05.2001
Clark, David Labour Party South Shields 04.04.2001
Clark, Michael Conservative Party Rayleigh 04.04.2001
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 05.04.2001
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 04.04.2001
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 03.04.2001
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 02.04.2001
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.04.2001
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 04.04.2001
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 03.04.2001
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.04.2001
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.04.2001
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 03.04.2001
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.04.2001
Dalyell, Tam Labour Party Linlithgow 04.04.2001
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 04.04.2001
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 29.03.2001
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 10.04.2001
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 09.04.2001
Fabricant, Michael Conservative Party Lichfield 04.04.2001
Fearn, Ronnie Liberal Democrats Southport 04.04.2001
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 02.05.2001
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 29.03.2001
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 29.03.2001
Gorman, Teresa Conservative Party Billericay 02.04.2001
Griffiths, Nigel Labour Party Edinburgh South 05.04.2001
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 29.03.2001
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.04.2001
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 26.04.2001
Hayes, John Conservative Party South Holland and the Deepings 10.04.2001
Howarth, Gerald Conservative Party Aldershot 28.03.2001
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 04.04.2001
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.04.2001
Johnson Smith, Geoffrey Conservative Party Wealden 02.04.2001
Jones, Barry Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 03.04.2001
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 05.04.2001
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 04.04.2001
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 23.04.2001
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 02.04.2001
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 28.03.2001
Macdonald, Calum Labour Party Western Isles 02.05.2001
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 01.05.2001
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 04.04.2001
Malins, Humfrey Conservative Party Woking 01.05.2001
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 09.05.2001
Marsden, Paul Labour Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 04.04.2001
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 08.05.2001
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.05.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 09.05.2001
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 28.03.2001
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 01.05.2001
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.05.2001
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 03.04.2001
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 04.04.2001
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 02.04.2001
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 03.04.2001
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 28.03.2001
Quinn, Lawrie Labour Party Scarborough and Whitby 03.04.2001
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow Anniesland 04.04.2001
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 02.04.2001
Roe, Marion Conservative Party Broxbourne 02.04.2001
Ross, William Ulster Unionist Party East Londonderry 03.04.2001
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 28.03.2001
Sayeed, Jonathan Conservative Party Mid Bedfordshire 03.04.2001
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.04.2001
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 04.04.2001
Stewart, David Labour Party Inverness East Nairn and Lochaber 05.04.2001
Swayne, Desmond Conservative Party New Forest West 02.04.2001
Thompson, William Ulster Unionist Party West Tyrone 04.04.2001
Trimble, David Ulster Unionist Party Upper Bann 04.04.2001
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 28.03.2001
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 04.04.2001
Viggers, Peter Conservative Party Gosport 09.04.2001
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 23.04.2001
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 04.04.2001
Wilkinson, John Conservative Party Ruislip-Northwood 28.03.2001
Williams, Alan Labour Party Swansea West 28.03.2001
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 08.05.2001
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 09.04.2001
Winterton, Ann Independent Conservative Congleton 09.04.2001
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 29.03.2001
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 02.04.2001