Early day motion 457

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2000-01
  • Date tabled: 16.03.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Tredinnick, David
  • Sponsors:

    That this House applauds the moves now under way in the public sector to abolish the much abused system of cash retentions in the construction industry, which over many years has operated to the detriment of the profitability and competitiveness of the vast majority of firms in the industry, especially small businesses; believes that the system should not be perpetuated by public sector procurers who are committed to being best practice clients of the construction industry; urges the Chief Secretary to the Treasury, in conjunction with the Office of Government Commerce, to announce a programme for the phasing out of the retention system in respect of construction works procured by central government clients; and calls for the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions to issue a circular to local authorities in England and Wales advising local authorities to refrain from demanding retentions on all new contracts for construction works that are left following a date to be agreed between the Secretary of State and the Local Government Association.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 114

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 114 out of 114

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Atkinson, David Conservative Party Bournemouth East 24.04.2001
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 02.05.2001
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 24.04.2001
Baldry, Tony [R] Conservative Party Banbury 25.04.2001
Ballard, Jackie Liberal Democrats Taunton 02.05.2001
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 04.04.2001
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 01.05.2001
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 24.04.2001
Blackman, Liz Labour Party Erewash 04.04.2001
Body, Richard Conservative Party Boston and Skegness 24.04.2001
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 01.05.2001
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 25.04.2001
Browne, Desmond Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 10.05.2001
Burns, Simon Conservative Party West Chelmsford 24.04.2001
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 08.05.2001
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 29.03.2001
Cann, Jamie Labour Party Ipswich 22.03.2001
Chidgey, David Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 24.04.2001
Church, Judith Labour Party Dagenham 10.04.2001
Clark, David Labour Party South Shields 26.04.2001
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.03.2001
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 25.04.2001
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 08.05.2001
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.04.2001
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 30.04.2001
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 29.03.2001
Cunningham, Roseanna Scottish National Party Perth 23.04.2001
Curtis-Thomas, Claire Labour Party Crosby 26.03.2001
Darvill, Keith Labour Party Upminster 23.04.2001
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 26.04.2001
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 23.04.2001
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 23.04.2001
Donohoe, Brian H Labour Party Cunninghame South 23.04.2001
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 03.05.2001
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 24.04.2001
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 24.04.2001
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 28.03.2001
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 24.04.2001
Follett, Barbara Labour Party Stevenage 02.04.2001
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 25.04.2001
Fyfe, Maria Labour Party Glasgow Maryhill 10.05.2001
Galloway, George Labour Party Glasgow Kelvin 24.04.2001
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 28.03.2001
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.05.2001
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 03.05.2001
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 24.04.2001
Gordon, Eileen Labour Party Romford 26.04.2001
Gorman, Teresa Conservative Party Billericay 09.04.2001
Gorrie, Donald Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 30.04.2001
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 10.04.2001
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 23.04.2001
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 30.04.2001
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.04.2001
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 26.04.2001
Henderson, Ivan Labour Party Harwich 24.04.2001
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 10.05.2001
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 05.04.2001
Hurst, Alan Labour Party Braintree 02.05.2001
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 24.04.2001
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 21.03.2001
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 03.04.2001
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 23.04.2001
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 24.04.2001
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 01.05.2001
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 02.05.2001
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 24.04.2001
Livsey, Richard Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 30.04.2001
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 27.03.2001
Macdonald, Calum Labour Party Western Isles 02.05.2001
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 23.04.2001
Marsden, Paul Labour Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 24.04.2001
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 24.04.2001
McCartney, Robert United Kingdom Unionist Party North Down 24.04.2001
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 01.05.2001
McFall, John Labour Party Dumbarton 28.03.2001
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.04.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 24.04.2001
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 04.04.2001
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 24.04.2001
Morgan, Alasdair Scottish National Party Galloway and Upper Nithsdale 03.04.2001
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 24.04.2001
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 28.03.2001
Nicholls, Patrick Conservative Party Teignbridge 24.04.2001
Norris, Dan Labour Party Wansdyke 24.04.2001
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 25.04.2001
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 24.04.2001
O'Neill, Martin Labour Party Ochil 02.05.2001
Plaskitt, James Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 24.04.2001
Pollard, Kerry Labour Party St Albans 23.04.2001
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 24.04.2001
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 27.03.2001
Quinn, Lawrie Labour Party Scarborough and Whitby 03.04.2001
Rammell, Bill Labour Party Harlow 24.04.2001
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 26.04.2001
Shaw, Jonathan Labour Party Chatham and Aylesford 28.03.2001
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 02.04.2001
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 03.05.2001
Snape, Peter Labour Party West Bromwich East 24.04.2001
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 24.04.2001
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 10.04.2001
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 03.05.2001
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 27.04.2001
Swinney, John Scottish National Party North Tayside 09.05.2001
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 19.03.2001
Taylor, Teddy Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 24.04.2001
Temple-Morris, Peter Labour Party Leominster 23.04.2001
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 16.03.2001
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 03.05.2001
Turner, Dennis Labour Party Wolverhampton South East 28.03.2001
Turner, Neil Labour Party Wigan 23.04.2001
Wells, Bowen Conservative Party Hertford and Stortford 24.04.2001
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 25.04.2001
Winterton, Ann Independent Conservative Congleton 25.04.2001
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 24.04.2001