Early day motion 399

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2000-01
  • Date tabled: 05.03.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Austin, John
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes with sadness that 5th March marks the seventh anniversary of the imprisonment of Leyla Zana; recalls that Leyla Zana is the only Kurdish woman elected to the Turkish Parliament, having received 86 per cent. of the vote in 1991; offers congratulations for her fearless and outspoken opposition to the Turkish Govenment's oppression of the Kurdish people; notes that as a result of speaking a sentence in the Kurdish language in parliament, stating that she would fight for the fraternal co-existence of the Kurdish and Turkish peoples within the context of democracy, and subsequently testifying about human rights abuses in Turkey before the Helsinki Commission of the UK Congress, her parliamentary immunity was revoked; further notes that she was subsequently arrested and charged that her testimony before Congress was an act of treason for which the State Security Court sentenced her to 15 years in prison; recognises that she has been a tireless fighter for peace and for the national and political rights of her people, winning widespread international recognition and respect; further notes that the European Parliament awarded her the Sakharov Peace Prize in 1995 and that Amnesty International has adopted her and her duly elected parliamentarian colleagues Hatip Dicle, Orhan Dogan and Selim Sadak, as prisoners of conscience; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government, the EU and other international organisations to raise Mrs Zana's case with the Turkish authorities at the highest level as a matter of urgency and seek her and her colleagues' immediate and unconditional release.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 05.03.2001
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 06.03.2001
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 13.03.2001
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.03.2001
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.03.2001
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 07.03.2001
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 07.03.2001
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 28.03.2001
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 07.03.2001
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.03.2001
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 06.03.2001
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 12.03.2001
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 12.03.2001
Cunliffe, Lawrence Labour Party Leigh 12.03.2001
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 15.03.2001
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 07.03.2001
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 13.03.2001
Ewing, Margaret Scottish National Party Moray 08.03.2001
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.03.2001
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 06.03.2001
Gorrie, Donald Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 13.03.2001
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 06.03.2001
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 20.03.2001
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.03.2001
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 06.03.2001
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 07.03.2001
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 13.03.2001
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 08.03.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 09.03.2001
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 07.03.2001
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 14.03.2001
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 06.03.2001
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 14.03.2001
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 15.03.2001
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 07.03.2001
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 06.03.2001
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 13.03.2001
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 07.03.2001