Early day motion 240

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2000-01
  • Date tabled: 23.01.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Jones, Nigel
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes with concern that those scientific procedures carried out by academic establishments, government departments and other non-commercial institutions have not recorded any decline in numbers since 1987; is perturbed that the 3Rs (reduction, refinement and replacement) are not being addressed at these establishments; further notes with concern that the Statistics on Scientific Procedures, which includes commercial establishments, records only a very slight overall reduction in procedures of just 2 per cent. during the past five years; believes that, as this figure is equivalent to less than half a per cent. decrease per year, the licensed establishments do not reflect the promised principle of the 3Rs; and calls upon the Government to set up an independent inquiry into this unacceptable failure to meet any of the principles of the 3Rs as promoted by the Home Office Inspectorate.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 45

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 45 out of 45

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 26.02.2001
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 05.02.2001
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 30.01.2001
Benn, Tony Labour Party Chesterfield 14.02.2001
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 28.02.2001
Brand, Peter Liberal Democrats Isle of Wight 25.01.2001
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 08.02.2001
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 08.02.2001
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.02.2001
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 28.03.2001
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 14.02.2001
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.01.2001
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.01.2001
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.02.2001
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 26.02.2001
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 26.02.2001
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 08.02.2001
Fearn, Ronnie Liberal Democrats Southport 25.01.2001
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.03.2001
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.02.2001
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.01.2001
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.01.2001
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 08.02.2001
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 23.01.2001
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 15.02.2001
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 08.02.2001
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.02.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 30.01.2001
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 07.02.2001
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 30.01.2001
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 09.02.2001
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 08.02.2001
Rendel, David Liberal Democrats Newbury 02.04.2001
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 15.02.2001
Rogers, Allan Labour Party Rhondda 21.03.2001
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 24.01.2001
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 12.02.2001
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 08.02.2001
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 25.01.2001
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 07.02.2001
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 30.01.2001
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 10.05.2001
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 25.01.2001
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 14.02.2001
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 13.02.2001